About MRS

Board of Directors     

The MRS board of directors is composed of elected officers and directors. Directors are elected for three-year terms with one third of the board changing each year. The president-elect serves three years (as president-elect, president and past president); the secretary is elected for a three-year term; and the treasurer is appointed yearly by the board. All members of the board serve on at least one of the board’s committees: Audit, External Relations, Finance, Governance, Nominating, Operational and Strategic Oversight and Planning. Each committee has specific duties and is responsible for formulating policy and strategy in their specific areas for full board consideration.

2017 MRS Officers

Expiration of Board term follows name

Susan Trolier-McKinstry
President
Susan Trolier-McKinstry (18)
The Pennsylvania State University
N-227 Millennium Science Complex
University Park, PA 16802
Telephone: 814-863-8348
stmckinstry@psu.edu
Kristi Anseth
Immediate Past President
Kristi S. Anseth (17)
University of Colorado Boulder
Department of Chemical and Biological Engineering
3415 Colorado Avenue, JSCBB UCB 596
Boulder, CO  80303-0586
Telephone: 303-492-3147
kristi.anseth@colorado.edu 

 

Sean J. Hearne
Vice President
Sean J. Hearne (19)
Center for Integrated Nanotechnologies
Sandia National Laboratories
P.O. Box 5800, MS 1304
Albuquerque, NM 87185-1304
Telephone: 505-845-0804
sjhearn@sandia.gov
Eric A. Stach
Secretary
Eric A. Stach  (19)
University of Pennsylvania
Department of Materials Science and Engineering
Laboratory for Research on the Structure of Matter
Singh Center for Nanotechnology
3231 Walnut Street
Philadelphia, PA 19104
Phone: 765-346-3460
Email: stach@seas.upenn.edu

 

Dave-Parillo
Treasurer
David J. Parrillo  (18)
The Dow Chemical Company
2553 N. Thunderbird Drive
Midland, MI 48642-2020
Telephone: 989-636-4741
djparrillo@dow.com

Todd Osman
Executive Director
Todd M. Osman

Materials Research Society
506 Keystone Drive
Warrendale, PA 15086-7573
Telephone: 724-779-2701
Fax: 724-779-8313
osman@mrs.org 

Directors

Charles-Black
Charles T. Black (17)
Brookhaven National Laboratory
Center for Functional Nanomaterials
735 Brookhaven Avenue
Upton, NY 11973
Telephone: 631-344-4397
ctblack@bnl.gov
Li-Chyong Chen
Li-Chyong Chen (19)
National Taiwan University
Center For Condensed Matter Sciences
1 Roosevelt Rd Sec 4
Taipei, 106
Taiwan
Telephone: 886-2-33665200
chenlc@ntu.edu.tw

 

Matt Copel
Matt Copel  (18)
IBM Research Division
P.O. Box 218
Yorktown Heights, NY 10598
Telephone: 914-945-2907
mcopel@us.ibm.com 
Paul S. Drzaic
Paul S. Drzaic (18)
Apple, Inc.
MS 89-2D
19333 Vallco Parkway
Cupertino, CA 95014-2506
Telephone: 408-974-4757
pdrzaic@apple.com 

 

Dawnielle Farrar-Gaines
Dawnielle Farrar-Gaines (19)
Johns Hopkins University
Applied Physics Lab
11100 Johns Hopkins Rd
Laurel, MD 20723-6005
Telephone: (240) 228-7384
dawnielle.farrar-gaines@jhuapl.edu
Yury Gogotsi
Yury Gogotsi (18)
Drexel University
Department of Materials Science and Engineering
3141 Chestnut Street
Philadelphia, PA 19104-2816
Telephone: 215-895-6446
gogotsi@drexel.edu

 

Claudia E. Gutierrez-Wing
Claudia Gutierrez-Wing (19)
ININ
Dept. Tec. de Materiales
Carr Mexico-Toluca s/n La Marquesa
52750 Ocoyoacac
Mexico
Telephone:  52-55-53297200 ext. 12560
claudia.gutierrez@inin.gob.mx
Young-Chang Joo
Young-Chang Joo (18)
Seoul National University
Department of Materials Science & Engineering (Rm 33-311)
1 Gwanak-ro Gwanak-gu
Seoul, 151-744
Republic of Korea
Telephone: +82-2-880-8986
ycjoo@snu.ac.kr

 

Karen L. Kavanagh
Karen L. Kavanagh (17)
Simon Fraser University
Department of Physics
8888 University Drive
Burnaby, BC V5A 1S6
Canada
Telephone: 778-782-4244
Kavanagh@sfu.ca
Lincoln Lauhon
Lincoln J. Lauhon (19)
Northwestern University
2220 Campus Dr.
Evanston, IL 60208-0893
Telephone: (847) 491-2232
lauhon@northwestern.edu

 

Christine Ortiz
Christine Ortiz (17)
Massachusetts Institute of Technology
77 Massachusetts Avenue
Dept 13-4002
Cambridge, MA 02139-4301
Telephone: 617-452-3084
cortiz@mit.edu
SabrinaSartori
Sabrina Sartori (17)
University of Oslo
Department of Physics
Forskningsparken, Gaustadalleen 21
0349 Oslo
Norway
Telephone: +47-22859120
sabrina.sartori@fys.uio.no

 

Magaly Spector
Magaly Spector (18)
University of Texas at Dallas
800 W. Campbell Road, SPN 2.235
Richardson, TX 75080-3021
Work Phone: 972-883-4155
magaly.spector@utdallas.edu
Molly Stevens
Molly M. Stevens (19)
Imperial College London
Department of Materials
Prince Consort Road
London, SW7 2AZ
United Kingdom
Telephone: 44-20-7594-6804
m.stevens@imperial.ac.uk
Anke Weidenkaff
Anke Weidenkaff (17)
Institute for Materials Science
University of Stuttgart
Heisenbergstr. 3, Room 2 V09 MPI- IS
DE-70569 Stuttgart
Germany
Telephone: +49-711-685-61932
weidenkaff@imw.uni-stuttgart.de