About MRS

Board of Directors     

The MRS board of directors is composed of elected officers and directors. Directors are elected for three-year terms with one third of the board changing each year. The president-elect serves three years (as president-elect, president and past president); the secretary is elected for a three-year term; and the treasurer is appointed yearly by the board. All members of the board serve on at least one of the board’s committees: Audit, External Relations, Finance, Governance, Nominating, Operational and Strategic Oversight and Planning. Each committee has specific duties and is responsible for formulating policy and strategy in their specific areas for full board consideration.

2018 MRS Officers

Expiration of Board term follows name

Sean J. Hearne
President
Sean J. Hearne (19)
Center for Integrated Nanotechnologies
Sandia National Laboratories
P.O. Box 5800, MS 1315
Albuquerque, NM 87185-1315
Telephone: 505-845-0804
sjhearn@sandia.gov
Susan Trolier-McKinstry
Immediate Past President
Susan Trolier-McKinstry (18)
The Pennsylvania State University
N-227 Millennium Science Complex
University Park, PA 16802
Telephone: 814-863-8348
stmckinstry@psu.edu

 

Michael Fitzsimmons

Vice President
Michael R. Fitzsimmons (20)

Oak Ridge National Laboratory and
University of Tennessee
Department of Physics and Astronomy
mfitzsimmons44@gmail.com

Eric A. Stach
Secretary
Eric A. Stach  (19)
University of Pennsylvania
Department of Materials Science and Engineering
Laboratory for Research on the Structure of Matter
Singh Center for Nanotechnology
3231 Walnut Street
Philadelphia, PA 19104
Telephone: 765-346-3460
stach@seas.upenn.edu

 

Dave-Parillo
Treasurer
David J. Parrillo  (18)
The Dow Chemical Company
2553 N. Thunderbird Drive
Midland, MI 48642-2020
Telephone: 989-636-4741
djparrillo@dow.com

Todd Osman
Executive Director
Todd M. Osman

Materials Research Society
506 Keystone Drive
Warrendale, PA 15086-7573
Telephone: 724-779-2701
Fax: 724-779-8313
osman@mrs.org 

Directors

Griselda Bonilla
Griselda Bonilla (20)
IBM T.J. Watson Research Center
1101 Kitchawan Road
Yorktown Heights, NY 10598
Telephone: 914-945-2692
gbonilla@us.ibm.com
Li-Chyong Chen
Li-Chyong Chen (19)
National Taiwan University
Center For Condensed Matter Sciences
1 Roosevelt Rd Sec 4
Taipei, 106
Taiwan
Telephone: 886-2-33665200
chenlc@ntu.edu.tw

 

Matt Copel
Matt Copel  (18)
IBM Research Division
P.O. Box 218
Yorktown Heights, NY 10598
Telephone: 914-945-2907
mcopel@us.ibm.com 
Paul S. Drzaic
Paul S. Drzaic (18)
Apple, Inc.
MS 89-2D
19333 Vallco Parkway
Cupertino, CA 95014-2506
Telephone: 408-974-4757
pdrzaic@apple.com 

 

Dawnielle Farrar-Gaines
Dawnielle Farrar-Gaines (19)
Johns Hopkins University
Applied Physics Lab
11100 Johns Hopkins Rd
Laurel, MD 20723-6005
Telephone: (240) 228-7384
dawnielle.farrar-gaines@jhuapl.edu
Yury Gogotsi
Yury Gogotsi (18)
Drexel University
Department of Materials Science and Engineering
3141 Chestnut Street
Philadelphia, PA 19104-2816
Telephone: 215-895-6446
gogotsi@drexel.edu

 

Claudia E. Gutierrez-Wing
Claudia Gutierrez-Wing (19)
ININ
Dept. Tec. de Materiales
Carr Mexico-Toluca s/n La Marquesa
52750 Ocoyoacac
Mexico
Telephone:  52-55-53297200 ext. 12560
claudia.gutierrez@inin.gob.mx
Young-Chang Joo
Young-Chang Joo (18)
Seoul National University
Department of Materials Science & Engineering (Rm 33-311)
1 Gwanak-ro Gwanak-gu
Seoul, 151-744
Republic of Korea
Telephone: +82-2-880-8986
ycjoo@snu.ac.kr

 

Lincoln Lauhon
Lincoln J. Lauhon (19)
Northwestern University
2220 Campus Dr.
Evanston, IL 60208-0893
Telephone: (847) 491-2232
lauhon@northwestern.edu
Paul C. McIntyre
Paul C. McIntyre (20)
Stanford University
476 Lomita Mall
Department of MSE
Stanford, CA 94305-4008
Telephone: 650-725-9806
pcm1@stanford.edu

 

Christopher Schuh
Christopher Schuh (20)
Massachusetts Institute of Technology
Bldg. 6-113
77 Massachusetts Avenue
Cambridge, MA 02139
Telephone: 617-452-2659
schuh@mit.edu
Rachel Segalman
Rachel A. Segalman (20)
University of California, Santa Barbara
Department of Chemical Engineering & Materials
Mail Code 5080
Santa Barbara, CA 93106-0001
Telephone: 805-893-3709
segalman@ucsb.edu

 

Magaly Spector
Magaly Spector (18)
University of Texas at Dallas
800 W. Campbell Road, SPN 2.235
Richardson, TX 75080-3021
Work Phone: 972-883-4155
magaly.spector@utdallas.edu
Molly Stevens
Molly M. Stevens (19)
Imperial College London
Department of Materials
Prince Consort Road
London, SW7 2AZ
United Kingdom
Telephone: 44-20-7594-6804
m.stevens@imperial.ac.uk
Ehrenfried Zschech
Ehrenfried Zschech (20)
Fraunhofer IKTS
Maria-Reiche-Strasse 2
01109 Dresden
Germany
Telephone: +49 172 252 34 70
ehrenfried.zschech@ikts.fraunhofer.de