Symposium O: Next-Generation Polymer-based Organic Photovoltaics

Next-Generation Polymer-based Organic Photovoltaics

Highly efficient organic photovoltaics (OPVs) are now a reality with power conversion efficiencies approaching 10%. The next challenge is to enable the high-speed manufacturing of cells and modules with long lifetimes. New device architectures, new materials, and combined characterization techniques have also emerged as important drivers for progress in this technology. Reproducibly fabricating OPV devices requires an understanding of the physics associated with light absorption, the lifetime of the exciton and its transport to a charge separation interface, dissociation/recombination at the interface, the transport of charge carriers to electrodes, and charge extraction through electrode interfaces. These processes must be understood in the context of the nanoscale architecture within which they occur, which can be controlled only by understanding the role of processing conditions on the resultant morphologies produced. Moreover, the synthesis of new materials to either absorb light efficiently over a broad spectral range or better facilitate electron and hole transport has been the principal factor behind the recent steep increase in OPV efficiency. The introduction of new and more stable hole and electron extraction layers, and the understanding of the device as a whole, have enabled signifi-cant increases in OPV device lifetime. In addition, a number of combined techniques have recently emerged that can characterize structure and morphology in the bulk and at interfaces, revealing heretofore inaccessible structural details and mechanisms. These challenges span disciplines ranging from synthetic chemistry, to polymer morphology, to device architecture and physics. Their combined advances have led to a very rapidly changing field that has impacted the academic and industrial communities significantly. The establishment of a network of the Energy Frontier Research Centers and Energy Innovation Hubs by the Department of Energy has significantly contributed to the rapid growth and development of the field.

This symposium will focus on the most recent theoretical and experimental findings of the leading experts in the field of OPVs in a forum between the speakers and attendees. OPVs are a very rapidly developing area, where the OPV device efficiency has increased rapidly, nearly doubling over the last three years. Consequently, it is believed that addressing OPVs in this symposium will be quite timely and directly relevant to the mission of the MRS.

Session topics will include:

  • Polymer-based photovoltaic devices
  • Organic/inorganic photovoltaic devices: QD, semiconductor oxides, inorganic semiconductors
  • Morphological aspects of organic photovoltaic devices
  • Interfacial aspects of organic photovoltaic devices
  • Mobility and transport phenomena in organic photovoltaics
  • Tandem devices
  • Lifetime and stability: long-term studies, mechanisms, combined characterization techniques, encapsulation
  • ITO-free OPVs: new transparent substrates for flexible OPVs

A tutorial focusing on the fundamental aspects of organic photovoltaics is tentatively planned. Further information will be included in the MRS Program that will be available online in September.

Invited Speakers Include:

H. Ade (North Carolina State Univ.), N. Armstrong (Univ. of Arizona), Z. Bao (Stanford Univ.) M. D. Barnes (Univ. of Massachusetts Amherst), G. Bazan (Univ. of California, Santa Barbara), P. Blom (Holst Ctr., Netherlands), C. Brabec (Univ. Erlangen, Germany), J.-L. Bredas (Georgia Inst. of Technology), R. Friend (Univ. of Cambridge, United Kingdom), D. Ginley (National Renewable Energy Lab), A. Heeger (Univ. of California, Santa Barbara), J. Hsu  (Univ. of Texas, Dallas), J. Huang (Univ. of Nebraska-Lincoln), R. Janssen (Eindhoven Univ. of Technology, Netherlands), R. Jones (Univ. of Sheffield, United Kingdom), B. Kippelen (Georgia Inst. of Technology), E. J . Kramer (Univ. of California, Santa Barbara), F. Krebs (Risø-DTU, Denmark), J. Kumar (Univ. of Massachusetts Lowell), H. Lee (Gwanju Inst. of Science and Technology, S. Korea), M. Mackay (Univ. of Delaware), M. McGehee (Stanford Univ.), J. Nelson (Imperial College London, United Kingdom), B. Ocko (Brookhaven National Lab), D. Olson (National Renewable Energy Lab), J. Peet (Konarka Technologies), G. Rumbles (National Renewable Energy Lab), A. Salleo (Stanford Univ.), B. Sumpter (Oak Ridge National Lab), M. Thelekkat (Univ. Bayreuth, Germany), M. Toney (Stanford Univ.), M. Turbiez (BASF, Switzerland), D. Venkataraman (Univ. of Massachusetts Amherst), F. Wudl (Univ. of California, Santa Barbara), Y. Yang (Univ. of California, Los Angeles), L. Yu (Univ. of Chicago).

Symposium Organizers

Thomas P. Russell
University of Massachusetts Amherst
Polymer Science and Engineering Dept.
Amherst, MA 01003
Tel 413-577-1516
Fax 413-577-1510

Dean M. DeLongchamp
National Institute of Standards and Technology
Polymers Division, Electronics Materials Group
MS 8541, 100 Bureau Dr., Gaithersburg, MD 20899
Tel 301-975-5599
Fax 301-975-3928

Monica Lira-Cantu
Centre d’Investigacio en Nanociencia i Nanotecnologia (CIN2, CSIC)
Laboratory of Nanostructured Materials for Photovoltaic Energy
Escola Tecnica Superior d Enginyeria (ETSE)
Campus UAB Edifici Q 2nd Floor - QC/2111
E-08193 Bellaterra (Barcelona), Spain
Tel 34-93-586-8011
Fax 34-93-581-3797 

AdAdAdAdAd Back To Top

Publishing Partner

Corporate Partners