Von Hippel Award

Stuart Parkin - Von Hippel Award

Stuart Parkin, IBM Almaden Research Center

Wednesday, November 28
6:30 pm - 7:30 pm
Sheraton Boston Hotel, 2nd Floor, Grand Ballroom

Stuart S.P. Parkin, IBM Almaden Research Center (view biography)

Talk Presentation: The Spin on Electronics! (view abstract)

Awarded “for pioneering contributions to the science and technology of spintronic materials, particularly in establishing the fundamental foundations of spin-engineered magnetic heterostructures and demonstrating artificial atomically-layered magnetic multilayers for applications in field sensing, magnetic memory and data storage devices.” 

Dr. Parkin's talk was preceded by the Awards Ceremony, where the Von Hippel, David Turnbull Lectureship, MRS Medal, Materials Theory and Graduate Student Awards were presented.

 MRS OnDemand logo 

This event was recorded and is available at MRS OnDemand.

About the Von Hippel Award

The Materials Research Society’s highest honor, the Von Hippel Award is conferred annually to an individual in recognition of the recipient’s outstanding contribution to interdisciplinary research on materials.

Stuart S.P. Parkin Biography

Dr. Stuart Parkin is an IBM fellow (IBM's highest technical honor), manager of the Magnetoelectronics Group at the IBM Almaden Research Center, and a consulting professor in the Department of Applied Physics at Stanford University. He is also director of the IBM–Stanford Spintronic Science and Applications Center. Dr. Parkin's research interests include oxide thin-film heterostructures, high-temperature superconductors and magnetic thin-film structures and spintronic materials and devices for advanced sensor, memory and logic applications. His discoveries in magneto-resistive thin-film structures enabled a 1000-fold increase in the storage capacity of magnetic disk drives. Most recently, Parkin is working on a novel storage class memory device, "Racetrack Memory." He is a member of the National Academy of Sciences, the National Academy of Engineering, a fellow of the American Academy of Arts and Sciences, a fellow of the Royal Society (London), an honorary fellow of the Indian Academy of Sciences and an associate fellow of TWAS, the academy of sciences for the developing world. Parkin is the recipient of numerous awards and honors including the American Physical Society International Prize for New Materials (1994), the Europhysics Prize for Outstanding Achievement in Solid State Physics (1997) and the 1999–2000 American Institute of Physics (AIP) Prize for Industrial Application of Physics. Parkin has received honorary doctorates from the RWTH Aachen, the Eindhoven University of Science and Technology, the Universities of Regensburg and Kaiserslautern. Most recently Parkin received the 2008 IEEE Daniel E. Noble Award for his work on MRAM, the 2009 IUPAP Magnetism Prize and Neel Medal for outstanding contributions to the science of magnetism and the APS 2012 David Adler Lectureship Award. Parkin has authored ~400 papers and has ~93 issued patents. 

Talk Presentation: The Spin on Electronics!

Recent advances in manipulating spin-polarized electron currents in atomically engineered magnetic heterostructures make possible entirely new classes of sensor, memory and logic devices—a research field generally referred to as spintronics. A magnetic recording read head, initially formed from a spin valve, and more recently by a magnetic tunnel junction, has enabled a 1000-fold increase in the storage capacity of hard disk drives since 1997. The very low cost of disk drives and the high performance and reliability of solid-state memories, may be combined in the Racetrack Memory. The Racetrack Memory is a novel three-dimensional technology that stores information as a series of magnetic domain walls in nanowires, manipulated by spin-polarized currents. Spintronic devices may even allow for “plastic” devices that mimic synaptic switches in the brain, thereby allowing for the possibility of very low power computing architectures.

AdAdAdAdAd Back To Top

Publishing Partner

Corporate Partners