David Turnbull Lectureship Award Talk

Tuesday, November 29
6:00 pm – 6:45 pm
Sheraton, 2nd Floor, Grand Ballroom

James De Yoreo

James De Yoreo, Pacific Northwest National Laboratory
A Holistic View of Nucleation and Self-assembly

The Turnbull Lectureship Award recognizes the career contribution of a scientist to fundamental understanding of the science of materials through experimental and/or theoretical research, as exemplified by David Turnbull.

James De Yoreo is honored “for discoveries that have shaped our understanding of crystallization science.”

Nucleation is the seminal process in the formation of ordered structures ranging from simple inorganic crystals to macromolecular matrices. Observations over the past 15 years have revealed a rich set of hierarchical nucleation pathways involving higher-order species ranging from multi-ion clusters to dense liquid droplets, as well as transient crystalline or amorphous phases. Despite this complexity, a holistic framework for understanding these hierarchical pathways that is rooted in classical concepts emerges when the coupled effects of perturbations in free energy landscapes and the impact of dynamical factors are considered. Here I describe that framework and use a series of in situ TEM and AFM studies on inorganic, organic, and macromolecular systems to illustrate the evolution in nucleation processes as these perturbations and dynamical factors come into play. The results provide a common basis for understanding the development of order in systems as diverse as simple salt crystals and microbial membranes.

About James De Yoreo

James De Yoreo is Chief Scientist for Materials Science at Pacific Northwest National Laboratory (PNNL) and an affiliate professor of Materials Science and Engineering at the University of Washington.  He received his PhD degree in Physics from Cornell University in 1985. Following postdoctoral work at Princeton University, he became a member of the Technical Staff at Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory in 1989, where he held numerous positions including Deputy Director of the Laboratory Science and Technology Office. He joined Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory in 2007, where he served as Interim Director of the Molecular Foundry before moving to PNNL in 2012.

De Yoreo’s research has spanned a wide range of materials-related disciplines, focusing most recently on interactions, assembly and crystallization in inorganic, biomolecular and biomineral systems. He has authored, co-authored or edited over 220 publications and patents.

He is a recipient of the Laudise Prize of the International Organization for Crystal Growth (IOCG), the Crystal Growth Award of the American Association for Crystal Growth (AACG), an R&D 100 Award, and the LLNL Science and Technology Award. De Yoreo is a Fellow of the American Physical Society and MRS, a member of the IOCG and AACG Executive Committees, and has served as President of MRS.