Materials Research Society Announces 2012 MRS Fellows

March 19, 2012 « View all Releases


Rachel Fornataro
Communications Assistant
Materials Research Society


Materials Research Society Announces 2012 MRS Fellows
Twenty-eight honored for distinguished research accomplishments
and contributions to the advancement of materials research


WARRENDALE, PA  – [March 19, 2012] –The Materials Research Society (MRS) will recognize the following 28 members (in alpha order) as Fellows of the Materials Research Society at the 2012 MRS Spring Meeting in San Francisco. This recognition honors MRS members who are notable for their distinguished accomplishments and their outstanding contributions to the advancement of materials research, worldwide.

  • Doron Aurbach, Bar Ilan University
  • Phaedon Avouris, IBM Research, T. J. Watson Research Center
  • Herbert S. Bennett, National Institute of Standards and Technology
  • David G. Cahill, University of Illinois
  • Yves J. Chabal, University of Texas at Dallas
  • Bruce Dunn, University of California, Los Angeles
  • Peter Fratzl, Max Planck Institute of Colloids and Interfaces
  • William W. Gerberich, University of Minnesota
  • Amit Goyal, Oak Ridge National Laboratory
  • Mark C. Hersam, Northwestern University
  • Alex K.-Y. Jen, University of Washington
  • Kevin S. Jones, University of Florida
  • Lionel C. Kimerling, Massachusetts Institute of Technology
  • Jun Liu, Pacific Northwest National Laboratory
  • C. Mathew Mate, Hitachi Global Storage Technologies
  • Amiya K. Mukherjee, University of California, Davis
  • Christopher Murray, University of Pennsylvania
  • John Northrup, PARC, a Xerox company
  • Christopher J. Palmstrøm, University of California, Santa Barbara
  • Sokrates T. Pantelides, Vanderbilt University
  • George M. Pharr, University of Tennessee and Oak Ridge National Laboratory
  • Fan Ren, University of Florida
  • Clément Sanchez, Collège de France, Chimie de la Matière Condensée de Paris, Université Paris VI-CNRS
  • Susan Sinnott, University of Florida
  • Helena Van Swygenhoven, Paul Scherrer, Institute and École Polytechnique de  Lausanne
  • Patricia Thiel, Iowa State University and the Ames Laboratory
  • Richard Vaia, Air Force Research Laboratory
  • C. Grant Willson, University of Texas, Austin

A list of the honorees, along with brief citations that highlight their remarkable accomplishments can be found at

MRS is fortunate to enjoy the dynamic membership of such outstanding contributors to the progress of materials research and is confident that the examples of excellence, enterprise and dedication displayed by this steadily growing community of MRS Fellows will serve to encourage and inspire all materials researchers, at all levels, and will also support and enhance the prestige and recognition of materials research in serving the broader community.

Nominations will soon be accepted for the 2013 MRS Fellows. For information on nomination guidelines and eligibility, visit Deadline for nominations is October 1, 2012.

Photos of 2012 MRS Fellows available upon request at

About The Materials Research Society

The Materials Research Society (MRS) is an international organization of almost 16,000 materials researchers from academia, industry and government, and a recognized leader in promoting the advancement of interdisciplinary materials research to improve the quality of life. MRS members are engaged and enthusiastic professionals hailing from physics, chemistry, biology, mathematics and engineering—the full spectrum of materials research. Headquartered in Warrendale, Pennsylvania (USA), MRS membership now spans over 90 countries, with more than 46% of members residing outside the United States. In addition to its communications and publications portfolio, MRS organizes high-quality scientific meetings, attracting over 13,000 attendees annually and facilitating interactions among a wide range of experts from the cutting edge of the global materials community. MRS is also a recognized leader in education outreach and advocacy for scientific research.
Back To Top

Publishing Partner

Corporate Partners