Symposium B: Organic and Inorganic Materials for Dye-Sensitized Solar Cells

This symposium will focus on recent progress, current challenges and future directions for dye-sensitized solar-cell technologies. It is recognized that dye-sensitized solar cell (DSC) is one promising technology to be competitive to traditional energy sources and other energy-conversion devices in the future. However, the relatively low efficiency of energy conversion, inadequate understanding of long-term stability, as well as the corrosive nature of iodide-based redox couple, prevent the mass production of DSCs in the marketplace. Recently, significant breakthroughs in energy-conversion efficiencies up to 12.3% for liquid electrolyte-based DSCs and about 12-14% for perovskite-based solid-state DSCs have led this technology to a new paradigm with commercialization not far away. The symposium aims for discussions on advanced organic and inorganic materials that have the potential to address aforementioned challenges.

Topics will include:

  • Advanced light-harvesting materials (organic/inorganic)
  • Innovative electrolyte or hole-conducting systems
  • Efficient counter-electrode or photocathode materials
  • Novel nanostructured semiconducting materials
  • Charge injection, transport and recombination
  • Device modeling and scale-up

A tutorial focusing on fundamentals of advanced light-harvesting materials is tentatively planned. Further information will be included in the MRS Program that will be available online in January.

Invited speakers include:

Juan Bisquert (Univ. Jaume I, Spain), Robert Chang (Northwestern Univ.), Eric Wei-Guang Diau (National Chiao Tung Univ., Taiwan), Arthur J. Frank (National Renewable Energy Lab), Liyuan Han (National Inst. for Materials Science, Japan), Joseph T. Hupp (Northwestern Univ.), Prashant V. Kamat (Univ. of Notre Dame), Zhiqun Lin (Georgia Inst. of Technology), Tingli Ma (Dalian Univ. of Technology, China), Nam-Gyu Park (Sungkyunkwan Univ., Korea), Henry J. Snaith (Univ. of Oxford, United Kingdom), He Tian (East China Univ. of Science and Technology, China), Tomas Torres (Univ. Autónoma de Madrid, Spain), Qing Wang (National Univ. of Singapore, Singapore).

Symposium Organizers

Hongshan He
Eastern Illinois University
Dept. of Chemistry
Physical Science, Rm. 3430
600 Lincoln Ave.
Charleston, IL 61920-3099
Tel 217-581-6231

Kai Zhu
National Renewable Energy Laboratory
Chemical and Materials Science Center
1617 Cole Blvd.
Golden, CO 80401
Tel 303-384-6353, Fax 303-384-6150

Jin Young Kim

Korea Institute of Science and Technology
Photo-Electronic Hybrids Research Center
Hwarangno 14-gil 5, Seongbuk-gu
Seoul 136-791, R.O. Korea
Tel 82-2-958-5368, Fax 82-2-958-6649

Zhixin Zhao
Huazhong University of Science and Technology
Wuhan National Laboratory for Optoelectronics
1037 Luoyu Rd.
430074 Wuhan, China
Tel 86-15972183164, Fax 86-27-87793524

AdAdAdAdAd Back To Top

Publishing Partner

Corporate Partners