Graduate Student Award Receipients

Gold Award Recipients

GSA Gold 
  (L to R) First row: Emily Kosten, Feng Xiong 
  Second row: Jarad Mason, Jonathan Scholl, Liam Collins  
  Third row: Martin Ebner, Jeffrey Bosco, Michael Nahuib

Jeffrey Bosco, California Institute of Technology (E14.01)
Liam Collins, University College Dublin, (BBB1.01)
Martin Ebner, ETH Zurich (P1.07)
Emily Kosten, California Institute of Technology (II10.02)
Jarad Mason, University of California, Berkeley (I6.02)
Michael Naguib, Drexel University (NN6.48)
Jonathan Scholl, Stanford University (II7.03)
Feng Xiong, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign (HH4.02)

Silver Award Recipients

GSA Silver 
  (L to R) First row: Wei Qin, Canan Dagdeviren, Simin Mehrabani, Yiding Liu, Daniel Schauries 
  Second row: Soong Ju, Xiaobin Xu, Michael Layani, Guosong Hong, Wei Gao 
  Third row: Sihong Wang, Michael Grapes, Shawn Coleman,
Jiangwei Wang, Letian Dou, Chong Li
  Fourth row: Ping-Chun Li, Samuel Felton, Anoop Rama Damodaran, Andrew Akbashev, Andrew Yankovich

Andrew Akbashev, Drexel University (K8.06)
Shawn Coleman, University of Arkansas (WW2.03)
Canan Dagdeviren, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign (Z12.04)
Anoop Rama Damodaran, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign (J1.03)
Letian Dou, University of California, Los Angeles (C9.04)
Samuel Felton, Harvard University (XX3.04)
Wei Gao, University of California, San Diego (VV2.09)
Michael Grapes, Johns Hopkins University (CCC2.02)
Guosong Hong, Stanford University (MM10.03)
Michael Layani, The Hebrew University of Jerusalem (LL7.05)
Ping-Chun Li, University of Texas at Austin (KK7.03)
Chong Liu, University of California, Berkeley (D8.15)
Yiding Liu, University of California, Riverside (TT2.06)
Simin Mehrabani, University of Southern California (KK8.08)
Soong Ju Oh, University of Pennsylvania (EE5.02)
Wei Qin, University of Chicago (F1.10)
Daniel Schauries, Australian National University (ZZ6.04)
Jiangwei Wang, University of Pittsburgh (QQ5.07)
Sihong Wang, Georgia Institute of Technology (R1.01)
Xiaobin Xu, University of Texas at Austin (V10.02)
Andrew Yankovich, University of Wisconsin–Madison (DDD4.09)

About the Graduate Student Awards

MRS Graduate Student Awards are intended to honor and encourage graduate students whose academic achievements and current materials science research display a high level of excellence and distinction. MRS seeks to recognize students of exceptional ability who show promise for significant future achievement in materials research and education.


All finalists received a waiver of the meeting registration fee and a one-year MRS student membership. During the meeting week, all finalists were chosen to receive either Gold or Silver Awards, based on their presentations at the Special Talk Sessions. The awards were presented during the Award Ceremony and announced in the MRS Bulletin and on the MRS Awards page.

Gold Awards: $400 and a presentation plaque
Silver Awards: $200 and a certificate of accomplishment

Back To Top

Publishing Partner

Corporate Partners