Plenary Speaker

Chris Van de WalleChris G. Van de Walle
University of California, Santa Barbara

Presentation: First-Principles Theory of Wide Bandgap Materials


Nitride semiconductors are the key materials for solid-state lighting and also increasingly for power electronics. Wide-band-gap oxides are being pursued for transparent electronics and novel devices, and applications are envisioned for ultrawide bandgap materials. Thanks to theoretical and computational advances, the structural, electronic, and optical properties of these materials can now be calculated with unprecedented accuracy. This talk will explore enabling methodologies and illustrate the capabilities with relevant case studies. Examples include the prediction of alloy properties; the evaluation of loss mechanisms such as Auger recombination and Shockley-Read-Hall; a reexamination of polarization fields; and the potential for doping of ultrawide bandgap materials.  The dialog will show how insights gained from computations can guide experimental progress.

Work performed in collaboration with A. Alkauskas, C. Dreyer, L. Gordon, A. Janotti, E. Kioupakis, J. Lyons, J. Shen, J. Varley, D. Wickramaratne, and Q. Yan, and supported by DOE and NSF.

About Chris G. Van de Walle

Chris G. Van de Walle is the inaugural recipient of the Herbert Kroemer Endowed Chair in Materials Science at the University of California, Santa Barbara (UCSB).  Prior to joining UCSB in 2004, he was a principal scientist at the Xerox Palo Alto Research Center (PARC).  He received his Ph.D. degree in electrical engineering from Stanford University in 1986, was a postdoctoral scientist at IBM Yorktown Heights (1986-1988) and a senior member of research staff at Philips Laboratories in Briarcliff Manor (1988-1991). He has published over 400 research papers, holds 23 patents, has given 175 invited and plenary talks at international conferences, and was included in the 2014 “Highly Cited Researchers” list (

Van de Walle is a Member of the National Academy of Engineering, a Fellow of the American Physical Society (APS), American Vacuum Society (AVS), American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS), Materials Research Society (MRS), and Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (IEEE), as well as the recipient of a Humboldt Research Award for Senior U.S. Scientist, the David Adler Award from APS, the Medard W. Welch Award from AVS, and the TMS John Bardeen Award.  He currently serves as the chair of the APS Division of Computational Physics. His research interests include novel electronic materials, wide bandgap semiconductors (III-V nitrides, II-VI compounds), transparent conductors, and complex oxides; loss mechanisms in light emitters; two-dimensional conductors; physics and chemistry of hydrogen interactions with solids; and quantum information science.



AVS Sponsor logo

Nova-Kem Logo

TMS Logo
United Mineral & Chemical Corp. Logo