2018 NSSA Prize Winners and Fellows

The NSSA is pleased to announce the 2018 NSSA prize winners and new Fellows.

Clifford G. Shull Prize

Sam WernerSamuel A. Werner, University of Missouri and National Institute of Standards and Technology

“For his seminal contributions to the observation of the fundamental quantummechanical nature of spins through the effects of rotation and the gravitational field, using neutron interferometry, including the observation of the AharonovCasher effect, for his extensive work with neutron scattering on the magnetic properties of transition metals and their alloys, for his critical role in the NSSA, particularly as its Founding President, and for his wide and lasting influence on the neutron community, including nurturing of many neutron scientists.”

Werner will present his award talk Monday, June 25, from 8:15 am – 9:10 am.

Sustained Research Prize

Norm WagnerNorman Wagner, University of Delaware

“For his seminal and sustained contributions to our understanding of soft
condensed matter physics using neutron scattering.”

Wagner will present his award talk Wednesday, June 227, from 8:30 am – 9:10 am.

Science Prize

Dmitry PushinDmitry Pushin, University of Waterloo

“For the invention and application, in particular to neutron holography, of the five blade, decoherence-free interferometer.”

Pushin will present his award talk Tuesday, June 26, from 8:30 am – 9:10 am.

Prize for Outstanding Student Research

Alannah HallasAlannah Hallas, McMaster University

“For her exploration of new families of quantum pyrochlore magnets and elucidating their phase behavior and excitations using forefront neutron scattering techniques.”

Hallas will present her award talk Thursday, June 28, from 8:15 am – 8:55 am.

New Fellows of the NSSA

Meigan Aronson, Texas A&M University
“For seminal neutron investigations of the magnetic properties of highly correlated 4f and 5f electron materials.”

Takeshi Egami, University of Tennessee and Oak Ridge National Laboratory
“For seminal contribution to the development of neutron scattering, theory, and simulation tools to understand the local atomic structure and dynamics of a wide range of strongly correlated classical and electronic many-body systems.”

Alan Goldman, Iowa State University and Ames Laboratory
“For studies of magnetic and quasicrystalline systems that exploit the complementarity of neutron and x-ray scattering techniques.”

John Greedan, McMaster University
“For seminal contributions to understanding structure-property relationships in transition metal oxides using neutron scattering techniques, especially as they relate to pyrochlore oxides and other frustrated magnets.”

Martin Greven, University of Minnesota
“For world-class effort in the growth and neutron scattering study of bulk oxides, especially for his influential work on cuprate high-Tc superconductors.”

John Katsaras, Oak Ridge National Laboratory
“For developing and applying neutron scattering techniques to studies of biomembranes, and for helping solve important problems related to the structure and dynamics of biological systems.”

Hubert King, Exxon Mobil
"For creative application of neutron scattering to address a broad range of problems from shale gas recovery to diesel fuel additives, demonstrating the importance of neutron science to solving industrial challenges.”

Mark Lumsden, Oak Ridge National Laboratory
“For outstanding applications of neutron scattering to the study of iron-based superconductors and other problems at the forefront of condensed matter physics, and for important contributions to the advancement of inelastic neutron scattering in North America."

Stephan Rosenkranz, Argonne National Laboratory
“For contributions to the understanding of strongly correlated electron systems using neutron scattering, the development of novel neutron scattering instrumentation, and service to the neutron scattering community.“

Suzanne te Velthuis, Argonne National Laboratory
“For insightful contributions to the understanding of interfacial and thin-film magnetism utilizing polarized neutron reflectometry, for outstanding service to the neutron scattering community, and for leadership in educating the next-generation of scattering scientists.”

Thomas Vogt, University of South Carolina
“For original contributions to neutron scattering instrumentation and its use in condensed matter physics, materials science and chemistry.”

The Fellows will be announced Tuesday, June 26, from 8:15 am – 8:30 am.


Department of Energy



University of Maryland