Plenary Speakers

Thomas RussellThomas P. Russell
University of Massachusetts Amherst

Monday, June 25 | 9:10 am – 9:45 am
Real-Time SANS Studies on Bijel Formation

Thomas P. Russell, the Silvio O. Conte Distinguished Professor of Polymer Science and Engineering at the University of Massachusetts Amherst, received his PhD degree in 1979 in polymer science and engineering from the University of Massachusetts Amherst. Russell served as a research associate at the University of Mainz (1979-1981) and a research staff member at the IBM Almaden Research Center in San Jose, California (1981-1996). He was subsequently named Director of the Materials Research Science and Engineering Center, University of Massachusetts, (1996-2009); Director of the Energy Frontier Research Center on Polymer-Based Materials for Harvesting Solar Energy (2009-2014); and Principal Investigator (PI) in the Global Research Laboratory at Seoul National University (2005-2015) and the Beijing Advanced Innovation Center on Soft Matter (2016-present). Russell is currently a visiting faculty at the Materials Science Division in the Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory, an adjunct professor at the Beijing University of Chemical Technology, and a PI at the Advanced Institute of Materials Research at Tohoku University.

Russell’s research interests include the surface and interfacial properties of polymers, phase transitions in polymers, directed self-assembly processes, the use of polymers as scaffolds and templates for the generation of nanoscopic structures, the interfacial assembly of nanoparticles and wrinkling of thin polymer films. He has published over 80 journal articles, edited five books and received 33 patents. Russell is a Fellow of the American Physical Society (APS), Materials Research Society, Neutron Scattering Society of America, American Association for the Advancement of Science, and the American Chemical Society (ACS), Polymer Materials Science and Engineering Division. He has received the Polymer Physic Prize of the APS, the Cooperative Research Award of the ACS, the Dutch Polymer Award, the ACS Award in Applied Polymer Science, Society of Polymer Science Japan International Award, and is an elected member of the National Academy of Engineering.

Darrell G. SchlomDarrell Schlom
Cornell University

Tuesday, June 26 | 9:10 am – 9:45 am
A Thin-Film Approach to Manipulating Quantum Materials

Darrell Schlom is the Herbert Fisk Johnson Professor of Industrial Chemistry in the Department of Materials Science and Engineering at Cornell University. After receiving a BS degree from California Institute of Technology, he completed his graduate work at Stanford University, receiving an MS degree in electrical engineering and a PhD degree in materials science and engineering. He was then a postdoc at IBM's research lab in Zurich, Switzerland, in the oxide superconductors and novel materials group managed by Nobel Prize winners J. Georg Bednorz and K. Alex Müller. In 1992 he joined the faculty at The Pennsylvania State University in the Department of Materials Science and Engineering, where he spent 16 years before joining the faculty at Cornell in 2008. His research interests involve the heteroepitaxial growth and characterization of oxide thin films by reactive molecular-beam epitaxy (MBE), especially utilizing a 'materials-by-design' approach to the discovery of materials with properties superior to any known. His group synthesizes these oxide heterostructures using molecular-beam epitaxy (MBE). He has published over 550 papers and eight patents resulting in an h-index of 75 and over 28,000 citations. He has received various awards including an Alexander von Humboldt Research Fellowship and the MRS Medal, is a Fellow of both the American Physical Society and the Materials Research Society, and is a member of the National Academy of Engineering.

Jeffrey LongJeffrey R. Long
University of California, Berkeley, and Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory

Wednesday, June 27 | 9:10 am – 9:45 am
Neutron Diffraction Studies of Gas Adsorption in Metal-Organic Frameworks

Jeffrey R. Long is a professor of chemistry and chemical and biomolecular engineering at the University of California, Berkeley, and a senior faculty scientist in the Materials Sciences Division at Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory.  He served as Chair of the Division of Inorganic Chemistry of the American Chemical Society in 2012, as a founding Associate Editor of the journal Chemical Science, and presently serves as Director of the Center for Gas Separations.  In 2014, Long co-founded Mosaic Materials, Inc., a company devoted to the development of metal-organic frameworks for low-energy gas separations. His 280 publications have received more than 48,000 citations; his recent awards include a UC Berkeley Graduate Assembly Faculty Mentor Award and the 2014 Inorganic Chemistry Lectureship Award.   

Kate ScholbergKate Scholberg
Duke University

Thursday, June 28 | 8:55 am – 9:30 am
Scattering of Neutrinos—the "Little Neutrons”

Kate Scholberg is Professor of Physics and Bass Fellow at Duke University. She received a BSc in physics from McGill University in 1989. She then attended California Institute of Technology, receiving an MS degree in 1991 and a PhD degree in 1997 for thesis research on the MACRO experiment at Gran Sasso Laboratory in Italy.  As a research associate at Boston University, she joined the Super-Kamiokande collaboration.  She was an assistant professor at Massachusetts Institute of Technology from 2000-2004 before moving to Duke University.  A recipient of the DOE Outstanding Junior Investigator and NSF CAREER awards, she is currently a member of the Super-Kamiokande, T2K, and Deep Underground Neutrino Experiment collaborations, and served as spokesperson of the COHERENT experiment at the Spallation Neutron Source at Oak Ridge National Laboratory.  She coordinates the SuperNova Early Warning System, an international network of supernova neutrino detectors. She was elected as an American Physical Society (APS) Fellow in 2013 and was a recipient of the Breakthrough Prize in 2015 as a member of Super-Kamiokande and T2K.  She is Past Chair of the National Organizing Committee of the Conference for Undergraduate Women in Physics.