Careers & Advancement

Publishing Alliance

MRS publishes with Springer Nature


Corporate Partners

2015 MRS Fellows

Cammy R. Abernathy
Cammy R. Abernathy
University of Florida

"For contributions to the development of compound semiconductor materials growth using the chemical beam epitaxy method."

Dawn A. Bonnell
Dawn A. Bonnell
University of Pennsylvania

"For continuously expanding the ability of local probes to explore fundamental properties in complex materials, particularly oxides."

Gerbrand Ceder
Gerbrand Ceder
Massachusetts Institute of Technology

"For the conception and development of the Materials Genome Project, highlighting the benefits and applications of first-principles modeling, and accelerating rational design and iteration of materials for energy."

Bruce M. Clemens
Bruce M. Clemens
Stanford University

"For pioneering work in thin-film and nanostructured material growth and characterization, leadership service to MRS and the materials community, and for leadership in teaching and mentoring."


Judith Driscoll
University of Cambridge

"For pioneering contributions to complex oxide epitaxy, including epitaxial complex oxide thin-film heterostructures and devices with tailored magnetic and electronic properties."


Nader Engheta
University of Pennsylvania

"For contributions that have laid a foundation for the design of metamaterials and nanoscale optics and advanced material-based optical nanocircuitry, biologically inspired imaging and sensing."

Benjamin S. Hsiao
Stony Brook University

"For world-renowned accomplishments in materials research with an emphasis on synchrotron technology, polymer crystallization and nanofiber applications, as well as contributions to community services."

Zakya H. Kafafi
Lehigh University

"For outstanding research in organic electronic and opto-electronic materials, as well as dedicated service as Director of the NSF Division of Materials Research and through numerous professional society activities."

En (Evan) Ma
The Johns Hopkins University

"For contributions to the advancement of metastable alloys, in particular the foundational understanding of atomic-level structure and structure–property relations in metallic glasses, and deformation behavior of nanostructured metals and alloys."

Peter X. Ma
University of Michigan

"For seminal contributions to biomaterials science and engineering in the development of novel phase separation technologies, multi-scaled biomaterials and biomimetic scaffolds."

Susan Trolier-McKinstry
Susan Trolier-McKinstry
The Pennsylvania State University

"For creative and sustained contributions to the understanding of electroceramic thin films and for leadership in materials education in the materials research community."

Joan M. Redwing
The Pennsylvania State University

"For key contributions to the mechanistic understanding of materials synthesis by chemical vapor deposition, including Group III nitrides, silicon nanowires and boride-based superconductors."

James B. Roberto
Oak Ridge National Laboratory

"For sustained service to the MRS community and the discovery of heavy element isotopes."

Vladimir M. Shalaev
Purdue University

"For pioneering studies of metamaterials, including the first optical negative-index material, broadband optical magnetism, new plasmonic refractory materials and ultrathin optical components."

Jay A. Switzer
Missouri University of Science and Technology

"For pioneering and sustained contributions to the electrodeposition of ceramic films and epitaxial nanostructures, and for service to the Materials Research Society."

Yang Yang
University of California, Los Angeles

"For extraordinary contributions to organic electronic materials, interface processing, and novel devices, which have led to highly efficient solar cells, digital memory devices, and organic displays."

Alex Zunger
Alex Zunger
University of Colorado Boulder

"For transforming density functional formalism into a practical framework for predicting the material properties of bulk, alloys, nanostructures, photovoltaic materials and defects, leading to an “inverse design” of new materials."