

Statement in Support of ARPA-E Reauthorization Act of 2019

August 1, 2019

The Honorable Eddie Bernice Johnson Chairwoman Committee on Science, Space, and Technology 2321 Rayburn House Office Building Washington, DC 20515

The Honorable Frank Lucas
Ranking Member
Committee on Science, Space, and Technology
2321 Rayburn House Office Building
Washington, DC 20515

Dear Chairwoman Johnson and Rankin Member Lucas:

The Energy Sciences Coalition (ESC) supports Congressional efforts to reauthorize Advanced Research Projects Agency-Energy (ARPA-E), increase funding, and set the agency on a positive, long-term trajectory. ARPA-E plays a unique and critical role in maintaining America's global leadership in energy technologies and our energy security.

In less than a decade, ARPA-E has demonstrated remarkable success in advancing high-risk, high-reward energy technology solutions. ARPA-E's track record includes 145 projects that have received over \$2.9 billion in private sector follow-on funding. Equally notable, 76 projects have formed new companies and 131 projects have partnered with other government agencies for further development. As another indicator of success, ARPA-E projects have advanced scientific understanding and technological innovation through 2,489 peer-reviewed journal articles and 346 patents.

Any reauthorization must affirm the important and unique role ARPA-E plays in helping to commercialize innovative energy technologies. Final legislation should allow the program to continue to use a highly competitive selection process to identify innovative projects, push them to meet aggressive milestones, and help technologies cross the valley of death so the private sector can then commercialize them. We are pleased that a broad array of Members of Congress recognizes that increased funding is needed to meet ARPA-E's true potential. Consistent with a June 2017 National Academies report, additional funding would be used to scale up promising breakthrough technologies that are still too risky to be advanced by the private sector or other DOE programs. ESC recommends authorized funding levels that would increase ARPA-E by at least four percent plus inflation each year. This funding increase is consistent with recommendations by the ESC for the Office of Science and by leading science policy organizations overall for what is needed to maintain U.S. leadership in science and technology.

ESC also supports new authorization for ARPA-E to address DOE's nuclear waste clean-up and management issues and support projects to improve the resilience, reliability, and security of our energy infrastructure. This flexibility is needed to ensure ARPA-E can respond to emerging and future energy challenges.

Contacts: Christopher Carter Leland Cogliani

Co-chair Co-chair 610-216-5656 202-289-7475

ccc317@lehigh.edu <u>Leland@lewis-burke.com</u>

The Energy Sciences Coalition (ESC) is a broad-based coalition of organizations representing scientists, engineers and mathematicians in universities, industry and national laboratories who are committed to supporting and advancing the scientific research programs of the U.S. Department of Energy (DOE), and in particular, the DOE Office of Science.

ESC Membership

Association of American Universities

American Association for the Advancement

of Science

American Association of Petroleum

Geologists

American Chemical Society
American Geophysical Union
American Geosciences Institute
American Mathematical Society

American Nuclear Society American Physical Society

American Society for Engineering

Education

American Society of Agronomy

American Society of Mechanical Engineers

American Society for Microbiology American Society of Plant Biologists

Arizona State University

Association of American Universities Association of Public and Land-grant

Universities

Battelle

Binghamton University Biophysical Society Boston University

Case Western Reserve University

City College of CUNY Clemson University

Coalition for Academic Scientific

Computation (CASC)

Consortium for Ocean Leadership

Columbia University

Computing Research Association Council of Scientific Society Presidents

Cornell University

Cray Inc.

Crop Science Society of America

Duke University

Ecological Society of America

Florida State University Fusion Power Associates

General Atomics

Geological Society of America George Mason University Georgia Institute of Technology

Harvard University Health Physics Society

IBM

IEEE-USA

Iowa State University

Jefferson Science Associates, LLC

Krell Institute Lehigh University

Massachusetts Institute of Technology

Materials Research Society Michigan State University

Michigan Technological University

New York University Northeastern University Northern Illinois University Northwestern University

Oak Ridge Associated Universities

(ORAU)

OSA—The Optical Society

Pace University Penn State University Purdue University

Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute

Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey

Society for Industrial and Applied

Mathematics

Soil Science Society of America South Dakota School of Mines Southeastern Universities Research

Association Stanford University Stony Brook University

Tech-X

The Ohio State University University of California System University of Colorado Boulder

University of Delaware University of Iowa

University of Maryland, College Park

University of Michigan University of Missouri System University of North Texas University of Pennsylvania University of Rochester

University of Southern California University of Texas at Austin

University of Virginia

University of Wisconsin-Madison

Vanderbilt University

Washington State University
Washington University in St. Louis

West Virginia University

Yale University