ENERGY SCIENCES COALITION

November 25, 2014

The Honorable Harry Reid Majority Leader United States Senate S-221 Capitol Building Washington, DC 20510

Dear Majority Leader Reid:

We write to respectfully request that you move promptly to confirm Franklin M. (Lynn) Orr, Jr. and Marc Kastner who were nominated on November 14, 2013 to serve as Under Secretary for Science and Energy and Director of the Office of Science at the Department of Energy. Dr. Orr and Dr. Kastner had their confirmation hearings for these two posts over one year ago, and are two of about a dozen nominees for positions at the Department of Energy who still await confirmation. It is now time that the Senate move to confirm these two individuals to positions that are vital to the direction and oversight of the important scientific and energy research supported by the U.S. Department of Energy.

Dr. Orr is one of our nation's leaders in energy and science, with a distinguished record in innovation, research, education and administration. At Stanford University, he served as the Director of the Precourt Energy Institute and the Dean of Earth Sciences after chairing the Department of Petroleum Engineering. Dr. Kastner is a leading U.S. physicist and most recently served at the Dean of the School of Science at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology (MIT) after heading its Department of Physics.

If confirmed, both of these individuals will help to steward an important component of our federal research enterprise – the Department of Energy and its national laboratories. We believe that the scientific and energy research, unique world-class user facilities, and teams of skilled scientists and engineers funded by the Department of Energy at universities and national laboratories are critical to long-term economic growth and job creation. Economic experts have asserted as much, crediting past investments in science and technology for up to half the growth in the Gross Domestic Product (GDP) in the 50 years following the end of World War II. The confirmation of Dr. Orr and Dr. Kastner will provide leadership in our nation's efforts to advance scientific discovery and to develop breakthrough technologies and other innovations that will enhance America's energy security and economic competitiveness.

The Energy Sciences Coalition (ESC) is a broad based coalition of organizations representing scientists, engineers and mathematicians in universities, industry and national laboratories who are committed to supporting and advancing the scientific research programs of the U.S. Department of Energy (DOE), and in particular, the DOE Office of Science.

For these reasons, we urge the Senate to move forward on these nominations before the end of the 113th Congress.

Sincerely,

American Astronomical Society American Chemical Society American Geophysical Union American Geosciences Institute American Institute of Physics American Mathematical Society American Physical Society American Society for Engineering Education American Society of Agronomy American Society of Mechanical Engineers American Society for Microbiology American Society of Plant Biologists Arizona State University Association of American Universities Association of Public and Land-grant Universities Battelle **Binghamton University Boston University** Case Western Reserve University **Clemson University** Coalition for Academic Scientific Computation (CASC) Columbia University Computing Research Association **Cornell University** Cray Inc. Crop Science Society of America Duke University Florida State University **Fusion Power Associates** Georgia Institute of Technology IBM Iowa State University

Jefferson Science Associates, LLC **Krell Institute** Massachusetts Institute of Technology Materials Research Society Michigan State University Northern Illinois University Oak Ridge Associated Universities (ORAU) Pace University Pennsylvania State University Princeton University Purdue University Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute Rutgers, The State University of New Jersey Society for Industrial and Applied Mathematics Soil Science Society of America South Dakota School of Mines Southeastern Universities Research Association Stanford University SUNY at Binghamton Tech-X The Ohio State University University of California System University of Colorado Boulder University of Delaware University of Maryland, College Park University of Michigan University of Southern California University of Texas at Austin University of Wisconsin-Madison Vanderbilt University Washington University in St. Louis West Virginia University

сс:	The Honorable Mitch McConnell, Senate Minority Leader
	The Honorable Mary Landrieu, Chairman, Senate Energy and Natural Resources Committee
	The Honorable Lisa Murkowski, Ranking Member, Senate Energy and Natural Resources
	Committee
	The Honorable John Holdren, Assistant to the President for Science and Technology and Directo
	of the White House Office of Science and Technology Policy
	The Honorable Ernie Moniz, Secretary of Energy
	The Honorable Jeffrey Zients, Assistant to the President for Economic Policy and Director of
	the National Economic Council
	Katherine N. Beirne Fallon, Assistant to the President and Director of Legislative Affairs