Student-Organized Events

Writing and publishing skills are essential to both beginning and advancing your academic career. 

Although this fact is very well acknowledged in colleges and universities, we have come to recognize that students and other scholars rarely receive the guidance needed to help propel them toward the career of their dreams.

This three-day event is composed of four complimentary sub-workshops which will focus heavily on writing for academia and industry. The workshops will take an interactive approach, encouraging questions and comments from participants, while allowing time for technical criticism and feedback.

The students from the MRS University Chapter at KAUST were selected to organize these workshops, together with the Student Working Group, within the MRS University Chapters Subcommittee. This talented and resourceful group of students are to be commended for their time and efforts.

Register for each workshop by November 22 using the links below.

Kenneth Graham

Kenneth Graham, University of Kentucky
Writing Scientific Papers

Tuesday, November 29
10:30 am – 12:00 pm
Hynes, Level 3, Ballroom C

Bruce Gnade

Bruce Gnade, The University of Texas at Dallas
How Major Funding Agencies Screen Proposals

Thursday, December 1
10:30 am – 12:00 pm
Hynes, Level 3, Ballroom C

Sponsored, in part, by

KAUST Solar Center Logo

MRS extends their gratitude to the KAUST University Chapter group for their talent and hard work with organizing these informative events and many thanks for the group for securing KAUST and KAUST Solar Center for co-sponsoring these events for the 2016 MRS Fall Meeting. A special thanks to the Student Events Working Group and the University Chapters Subcommittee for organizing the details for the Call for Proposals and selection process.


MRS University Chapter at KAUST

  • Guy Olivier Ngongang Ndjawa
  • Rahim Munir
  • Maha Alamoudi
  • Sanaa Alshammari
  • Ahmed Mansour
  • Husam Niman Alshareef (Faculty Advisor)

Student Events Working Group

  • Ahmed E. Mansour, KAUST, Lead Organizer, Student Events Working Group
  • Ashish Dubey, South Dakota State University
  • Rajesh Ramaneti, University of Hasselt
  • Hayley Zhang, Georgia Institute of Technology
  • Joshua Woods, University of California, Riverside
  • Sherrie Huo, University of California, Riverside
  • Sunny Aggarwal, City University of New York

MRS University Chapters Subcommittee

  • Bryce Meredig, Citrine Informatics, Chair
  • James Rondinelli, Northwestern University
  • Jacob Trevino, City University of New York
  • Laurene Tetard, University of Central Florida
  • Cheng-Yen Wen, National Taiwan University
  • Siu Chan, Columbia University
  • Claudia Elizabeth Gutiérrez Wi, SMM (Mexico MRS)
  • Lorri Smiley, MRS HQ Liaison