2018 MRS Fall Meeting Home

Symposium CM04—Ultrafast Optical Probes for Advanced Materials Characterization and Development

Advanced ultrafast spectroscopies that exploit not only the high temporal resolution afforded by femtosecond lasers, but that also permit manipulation of light-matter interactions via a nonlinear optical response or coherent pulse shaping, have very steadily moved from niche studies of model systems to real-world materials probes. This symposium takes stock of recent developments in ultrafast spectroscopic techniques in addressing contemporary issues in emerging semiconductor materials. This provides an ideal platform for both laser physicists and material scientists to explore ways to converge established and emerging ultrafast techniques for material characterization and development.

Topics will include:

  • Photo-excitation dynamics in materials, probed via transient absorption and luminescence spectroscopies
  • Structure-property relationships of ultrafast carrier dynamics via spatial probes (optical or electronic microscopy and spectroscopy)
  • Defect physics probed via ultrafast optical/opto-electronic spectroscopies
  • Ultrafast optoelectronic probes (Stark effects, current, interface potentials) applied to functional devices
  • Experiments that include magnetic, electrical or pressure perturbations to the standard optical detection
  • Multi-dimensional and other non-linear spectroscopies exploring multi-particle physics in materials
  • Hybrid methods that employ optical pump and Xray/electron/THz probes
  • Role of vibrations in the fate of optical excitations probed via ultrafast Raman probes
  • Materials of interest: metal halide perovskites, 2D transition-metal di-calchogenides, quantum dots and other nanostructures, organic semiconductors

Invited Speakers:

  • Matthrew Beard (National Renewable Energy Laboratory, USA)
  • Eric Bittner (University of Houston, USA)
  • Giulio Cerrulo (Instituto Politecnico di Milano, Italy)
  • Jenny Clark (University of Sheffield, United Kingdom)
  • David Cooke (McGill University, Canada)
  • Steve Cundiff (University of Michigan, USA)
  • Marcos Dantus (Michigan State University/Biophotonics Solutions, USA)
  • Felix Deshler (University of Cambridge, United Kingdom)
  • Naomi Ginsberg (University of California, Berkeley, USA)
  • Matthew Graham (Oregon State University, USA)
  • Frank Hegmann (University of Alberta, Canada)
  • Tony Heinz (Stanford University, USA)
  • Laura Herz (University of Oxford, United Kingdom)
  • Libai Huang (Purdue University, USA)
  • Anna Köhler (Bayreuth University, Germany)
  • Dwayne Miller (Max Planck Institute for the structure and Dynamics of Matter, Germany)
  • Keith Nelson (Massachusetts Institute of Technology, USA)
  • Annamaria Petrozza (Istituto Italiano di Tecnologia, Italy)
  • Tönü Pullerits (Lund University, Sweden)
  • Sean Roberts (University of Texas at Austin, USA)
  • Greg Scholes (Princeton University, USA)
  • Brad Siwick (McGill University, Canada)
  • Julia Stahler (Ftitz Haber Institute, Germany)
  • Howe-Siang Tan (Nanyang Technological University, Singapore)
  • Sergei Tretiak (Los Alamos National Laboratory, USA)
  • Siva Umapathy (Indian Institute of Science, Bangalore, India)
  • Xiaoyang Zhu (Columbia University, USA)

Symposium Organizers

Carlos Silva
Georgia Institute of Technology
School of Chemistry and Biochemistry, School of Physics

Kimberley Hall
Dalhousie University
Department of Physics and Atmospheric Science

Ajay Srimath Kandada
Italian Institute of Technology
Center for Nanoscience and Technology

Cathy Wong
University of Oregon
Department of Chemistry and Biochemistry

Keywords for Abstract Submission

2D transition-metal di-calchogenides, metal halide perovskites, organic semiconductors, quantum-confined systems, Ultrafast spectroscopies

Publishing Alliance

MRS publishes with Springer Nature


Corporate Partners