2018 MRS Fall Meeting Home

Symposium ET07—Advanced Processing and Manufacturing for Energy Conversion, Storage and Harvesting Devices

Advanced processing and manufacturing are vital to the widespread adoption of energy conversion, storage and harvesting devices. Novel coating methods, electrode materials engineering, electrode architectures, manufacturing techniques and cell designs are rapidly being developed for low-cost, high electrochemical performance and throughput devices that have high energy efficiency with minimal environmental impact.

This symposium is designed to bring together experts from materials science, mechanical engineering, manufacturing, chemistry and other engineering communities interested in energy conversion, storage, and harvesting to review the current state-of-the-art and synthesize and formulate the necessary research needs and grand challenges in processing and manufacturing of advanced energy devices. Interdisciplinary topics will be connected by invited talks in order to accelerate the fundamental understanding of these devices towards impactful applications.

Topics will include:

  • Novel inactive components and cell design
  • Coating technologies
  • Advanced electrode architectures
  • Novel electrode manufacturing processes
  • Thin film passivation of electrode materials
  • Modification of current collector and separator materials
  • Nondestructive evaluation and quality control
  • Strategies for simplifying cell production
  • Advanced device management system
  • Improved electronic coordination of cells
  • A tutorial complementing this symposium is tentatively planned.

Invited Speakers:

  • Craig B. Arnold (Princeton University, USA)
  • Chunmei Ban (Virginia Tech, USA)
  • Werner Bauer (Karlsruhe Institute of Technology, Germany)
  • Stalder Bernhard (Buhler, Switzerland)
  • Paul Braun (University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, USA)
  • Peter Faguy (DOE VTO Program Manager, USA)
  • Alejandro A. Franco (Université de Picardie Jules Verne, France)
  • Stuart Hellring (PPG Industrials, Inc, USA)
  • Liangbing Hu (University of Maryland, USA)
  • Marcus Jahn (Austrian Institute of Technology, Austria)
  • Andrew Jansen (Argonne National Laboratory, USA)
  • Jun Liu (Pacific Northwest National Laboratory, USA)
  • Zifeng Ma (Sinopoly Battery Research Center, China)
  • Jeff Sakamoto (University of Michigan, USA)
  • Dan Steingart (Princeton University, USA)
  • John Turner (Oak Ridge National Laboratory, USA)
  • David Ventola (B&W MEGTEC, USA)
  • Jun Wang (A123 Systems, USA)
  • Martin Winter (Universität Münster, Germany)
  • Yuefei Zhang (Beijing University of Technology, China)
  • Vassilia Zorba (Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory, USA)

Symposium Organizers

Jianlin Li
Oak Ridge National Laboratory

Corie L. Cobb
University of Washington

Wilhelm Pfleging
Karlsruhe Institute of Technology

Pu Zhang
Navitas Systems

Keywords for Abstract Submission

Cell Manufacturing, Electrode Architecture, Electrode Engineering, Materials Processing, Processing Monitoring, Quality Control

Publishing Alliance

MRS publishes with Springer Nature


Corporate Partners