Meetings & Events

Publishing Alliance

MRS publishes with Springer Nature


Corporate Partners


2015 MRS Fall Meeting Logo2015 MRS Fall Meeting & Exhibit

November 29-December 4, 2015 | Boston
Meeting Chairs: T. John Balk, Ram Devanathan, George G. Malliaras, Larry A. Nagahara, Luisa Torsi

Symposium HH—Optical Metamaterials—From New Plasmonic Materials to Metasurface Devices

Metamaterials and plasmonics have generated new research paradigms at the interface of material science and nanophotonics, and greatly strengthened our understanding of light-matter interaction as well as material property engineering. Most recently, a number of emerging sub-fields of metamaterials and plasmonics, for example, metasurface structures and tunable optical/plasmonic materials beyond gold and silver have attracted wide attention and advanced the scientific knowledge in multiple dimensions.

In general, this symposium will provoke deeper thoughts about the future developments in directions including quantum metamaterials, parity-time symmetry, nonlinear and ultrafast dynamics in metamaterials, structured and tunable optical/plasmonic materials, etc. and discuss the potential synergy between these vital directions.

Topics will include:

  • Quantum plasmonics and quantum metamaterials
  • Novel designs and computational studies of metamaterials and metasurfaces
  • Parity-time photonics and optical magnetis
  • Tunable and switchable metamaterials and metasurfaces
  • Recent progresses in non-metal plasmonic materials
  • Nonlinear and Ultrafast Plasmonics and Metamaterials
  • Scalable and sustainable manufacturing techniques for 3D metamaterials
  • Application of new plasmonic materials in metamaterials and metasurfacesand other photonic structure design
  • Non-electromagnetic metamaterials
  • All-dielectric metamaterials

Invited Speakers:

  • Andrea Alù (University of Texas, Austin, USA)
  • Igal Brener (Sandia National Laboratories, USA)
  • Mark Brongersma (Stanford University, USA)
  • Federico Capasso (Harvard University, USA)
  • Nader Engheta (University of Pennsylvania, USA)
  • Shanhui Fan (Stanford University, USA)
  • Nicholas Fang (Massachusetts Institute of Technology, USA)
  • Francisco Garcia-Vidal (Universidad Autonoma de Madrid, Spain)
  • Harald Giessen (University of Stuttgart, Germany)
  • Erez Hasman (Technion, Israel)
  • Rainer Hillenbrand (CIC nanoGUNE, Spain)
  • Chen Hou-Tong (Los Alamos National Laboratory, USA)
  • Mikhail Noginov (Norvolk State University, USA)
  • Albert Polman (The Institute for Atomic and Molecular Physics, Netherlands)
  • Vladimir Shalaev (Purdue University, USA)
  • Costas Soukoulis (Iowa State University, USA)
  • Chan Che Ting (University of Science and Technology, Hong Kong, Hong Kong)
  • Shuang Zhang (University of Birmingham, United Kingdom)
  • Xiang Zhang (University of California, Berkeley, USA)
  • Nikolay Zheludev (University of Southampton, United Kingdom)

Symposium Organizers

Jie Yao
University of California Berkeley
Department of Materials Science and Engineering

Alexandra Boltasseva
Purdue University
School of Electrical and Computer Engineering

Dragomir Neshev
Australian National University
Research School of Physics and Engineering

Xiaobo Yin
University of Colorado Boulder
Department of Mechanical Engineering; Materials Science and Engineering Program