Meetings & Events

Publishing Alliance

MRS publishes with Springer Nature


Corporate Partners


2015 MRS Fall Meeting Logo2015 MRS Fall Meeting & Exhibit

November 29-December 4, 2015 | Boston
Meeting Chairs: T. John Balk, Ram Devanathan, George G. Malliaras, Larry A. Nagahara, Luisa Torsi

Symposium JJ—Multiferroics and Magnetoelectrics

Single phase or composite multiferroics show two or more ferroic (ferroelectric, ferro/anti-ferro magnetism, ferroelasticity …) orderings; while single phase or composite magnetoelectrics are the group of materials that exhibit strong magnetoelectric coupling. There has been significant progress in variety of multiferroic and magnetoelectric materials and devices that exhibit strong magnetoelectric coupling. More recently, new mechanisms are being explored for achieving larger magnetoelectric coupling in thin film heterostructures and nanoscale geometries. Of specific interests for this symposium are recent progress on multiferroic and magnetoelectric materials for devices such as magnetoelectric sensors, memory devices, nanoscale single magnetic domain control, and dual electric and magnetic field tunable microwave signal processors, etc. This symposium will focus on recent developments in the physics, materials science and applications of multiferroic and magnetoelectric single phase and heterostructures. Abstracts are solicited on new multiferroic and magnetoelectric materials exhibiting strong magnetoelectric coupling, synthesis of single crystal complex oxide composites, nanoscale single domain multiferroic geometries, and layered multiferroic and magnetoelectric heterostructures, characterization techniques, and device applications including sensors, memory devices, transducers, and high frequency signal processing.

Topics will include:

  • Magnetoelectricsensors
  • Nanoscalemultiferroic and magnetoelectric memory devices
  • Voltage tunablemultiferroic and magnetoelectric RF/microwave devices
  • Compactmultiferroic antennas
  • Integration ofmultiferroics and magnetoelectrics with semiconductors
  • Voltage controlof magnetization
  • Voltage controlof exchange bias
  • Charge mediatedmagnetoelectric coupling in magnetic/dielectric heterostructures
  • Voltage tunable RF/microwave devices
  • Single crystal and bulk and layered multiferroicheterostructures
  • Epitaxialmultiferroic heterostructures
  • Compositionaltuning of magnetoelectric coupling
  • Magnetoelectriccharacterization techniques
  • Electric controlof magnetic anisotropies in nanoscale single domain geometries
  • Theory andmodeling of magnetoelectric phenomena
  • A tutorial complementing this symposium is tentatively planned.

Invited Speakers:

  • G.S.D. Beach (Massachusetts Institute of Technology, USA)
  • C. Binek (University of Nebraska-Lincoln, USA)
  • G.J. Brown (Air Force Research Laboratory, USA)
  • L.Q. Chen (Penn State University, USA)
  • S.W. Cheong (Rutgers University, USA)
  • Y.H. Chu (National Chiao Tung University, Taiwan)
  • C.B. Eom (University Wisconsin Madison, USA)
  • F. Faupel (University of Kiel, Germany)
  • Y. Fetisov (Moscow Inst. Radio Engin. and Automation, Russian Federation)
  • M. Fiebig (ETH Zurich, Switzerland)
  • P. Finkel (Naval Research Laboratory, USA)
  • Z. Hu (Northeastern University, USA)
  • Q.X. Jia (Los Alamos National Laboratory, USA)
  • R.S. Katiyar (University of Puerto Rico, USA)
  • T. Kimura (Osaka University, Japan)
  • X.G. Li (University of Science and Technology China, China)
  • J.M. Liu (Nanjing University, China)
  • M. Liu (Xi'an Jiaotong University, China)
  • J. Ma (Tsinghua University, China)
  • L. Martin (University of California, Berkeley, USA)
  • N. Mathur (Cambridge University, United Kingdom)
  • S. Priya (Virginia Polytechnic Institute, USA)
  • R. Ramesh (University of California, Berkeley, USA)
  • S. Salahuddin (University of California, Berkeley, USA)
  • N. Spaldin (ETH Zurich, Switzerland)
  • G. Sruinivasan (Oakland University, USA)
  • I. Takeuchi (University of Maryland, USA)
  • S. Tolbert (University of California, Los Angeles, USA)
  • E. Tsymbal (University of Nebraska-Lincoln, USA)
  • D. Viehland (Virginia Polytechnic Institute, USA)
  • C. Vittoria (Northeastern University, USA)
  • J.L. Wang (Nanyang Technological University, Singapore)
  • P. Yu (Tsinghua University, China)

Symposium Organizers

Nian X. Sun
Northeastern University
Electrical and Computer Engineering

Greg Carman
University of California, Los Angeles
Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering

Cewen Nan
Tsinghua University
Materials Science and Engineering

Eckhard Quandt
University Kiel
Institute for Materials Science, Faculty of Engineering