Meetings & Events

Publishing Alliance

MRS publishes with Springer Nature


Corporate Partners


2015 MRS Fall Meeting Logo2015 MRS Fall Meeting & Exhibit

November 29-December 4, 2015 | Boston
Meeting Chairs: T. John Balk, Ram Devanathan, George G. Malliaras, Larry A. Nagahara, Luisa Torsi

Symposium P—Synthesis and Applications of Nanowires and Hybrid 1D-0D/2D/3D Semiconductor Nanostructures

Semiconductor nanowires (IVs, III-Vs, II-VIs, oxides, II-Vs, chalcogenides…), continue to attract international interest for both fundamental and applied studies after some 15 years of intense and ongoing research effort. Nanowires allow for axial/radial heterostructure together with advanced doping schemes, and reliable positioning strategies, making them ideal nanoscale building blocks for next generation devices. Recent examples include efficient solar cells, nanolasers, transistors, quantum devices and bio-sensors. Despite these impressive achievements, the majority of nanowire devices reported to date are still based on standard geometries, heterostructures or doping schemes. Progress is still required in understanding their fundamental growth mechanisms, accessing/controlling their electronic and optical properties and extending their device functionalities beyond conventional limits.

This multidisciplinary symposium extends across physics, chemistry, materials science, and biology in all fundamental and applied aspects of semiconductor 1D nanostructures. It will focus on advanced semiconductor nanostructures: compositional homogeneity, interfaces, crystal phases, heterostructures, novel geometries and scalable positioning strategies. Integration and interconnection on flexible/cost-effective/biocompatible substrates are of interest for future applications. Emphasis on studies combining controlled synthesis with improved electronic, optical, sensing and/or energy generation/storage performance will be sought. Devices taking advantage of the current challenges faced by nanowires, such as their surface-dominated properties, crystal phase/composition variations and unconventional heterostructuring will be encouraged. New applications of nanowire-based devices to probe physical, chemical or biological system properties are also of interest to this symposium.

Topics will include:

  • Bottom-up or top-down synthesis of nanowires and related semiconductor nanostructures
  • Energy conversion: photoelectrochemistry, thermoelectrics, photovoltaics
  • Advanced axial and radial heterostructures (hybrid 0D-1D/2D/3D, facet-selective), interface engineering, ternary/quaternary alloys
  • Doping strategies, including modulation doping, p-n junctions, tunnel junctions
  • Novel methods in characterizing interfaces and properties in heterostructured nanowires and in hybrid 0D-1D/2D/3D assemblies
  • Scalable positioning of these nanostructures into arrays/networks, integration on novel 2D/polycrystalline/flexible materials
  • Optoelectronics: LEDs, lasers, photodetectors, nanoplasmonics; electronics: more-than-Moore, portable electronics, biocompatibility
  • Quantum optics: single photon sources/detectors; quantum transport: spintronics, pseudo-particles, ballistic transport
  • Biological, gas, chemical sensors
  • Nanowire-cell interface and nanoelectronics applied to biological systems
  • A tutorial complementing this symposium is tentatively planned.

Invited Speakers:

  • Jordi Arbiol (ICN2, Barcelona, Spain)
  • Erik P. A. M. Bakkers (Eindhoven University, Netherlands)
  • Connie Chang-Hasnain (University of California, Berkeley, USA)
  • Kimberly A. Dick (Lund University, Sweden)
  • Vladimir Dubrovskii (Ioffe Institute, Russian Federation)
  • Michael A. Filler (Georgia Institute of Technology, USA)
  • Xiuling Li (University of Illinois, USA)
  • Charles M. Lieber (Harvard University, USA)
  • Philip J. Poole (National Research Council, Ottawa, Canada)
  • Christelle Prinz (Lund University, Sweden)
  • Heike Riel (IBM Research – Zurich, Switzerland)
  • Jacob T. Robinson (Rice University, USA)
  • Li Shi (University of Texas, USA)
  • Maria Tchernycheva (Institut d'Electronique Fondamentale, France)
  • Zhong Lin Wang (Georgia Institute of Technology, USA)
  • Margit Zacharias (University of Freiburg, Germany)

Symposium Organizers

Philippe Caroff
The Australian National University

Mônica A. Cotta
State University of Campinas

Shadi A. Dayeh
University of California, San Diego

Anna Fontcuberta i Morral
École Polytechnique Fédérale de Lausanne

Sébastien R. Plissard
Laboratory for Analysis and Architecture of Systems, CNRS