Meetings & Events

Publishing Alliance

MRS publishes with Springer Nature


Corporate Partners


2015 MRS Fall Meeting Logo2015 MRS Fall Meeting & Exhibit

November 29-December 4, 2015 | Boston
Meeting Chairs: T. John Balk, Ram Devanathan, George G. Malliaras, Larry A. Nagahara, Luisa Torsi

Symposium PP—Materials, Interfaces and Solid Electrolytes for High Energy Density Rechargeable Batteries

The focus of this symposium will be on electrode materials, interfaces and solid electrolytes for high energy density electrochemical energy storage. During the last decade there has been substantial progress towards development of high energy density electrode materials including solid-state electrolytes for all solidstate batteries. Developments in novel characterization methods combined with theoretical modeling tools to predict new materials phases have accelerated such efforts. However, challenges are still abounding. This symposium provides an opportunity for materials research community to discuss recent advances and problems and will cover a range of topics related to electrochemical energy storage materials, electrolytes and systems.

Topics will include:

  • New materials design and novel synthesis of high capacityelectrode materials
  • Architecture, fabrication, processing and scale-up of electrode materials
  • Solid electrolytes for all solid-state batteries
  • Advanced in-situ and ex-situ characterization of high energy density electrode materials and interfaces
  • Hierarchical multiscale modeling integrating theory and experiments

Invited Speakers:

  • Khalil Amine (Argonne National Laboratory, USA)
  • Paul Braun (University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, USA)
  • Gerd Ceder (Massachusetts Institute of Technology, USA)
  • Yet Ming Chiang (Massachusetts Institute of Technology, USA)
  • Luke Daemen (Oak Ridge National Laboratory, USA)
  • John Goodenough (University of Texas, Austin, USA)
  • Juergen Janek (University of Giessen, Germany)
  • Sun-Ho Kang (Samsung, Republic of Korea)
  • Royoji Kanno (Tokyo Institute of Technology, Japan)
  • Je Young Kim (LG Chem, Republic of Korea)
  • Hong Li (Chinese Academy of Sciences, China)
  • Chengdu Liang (Oak Ridge National Laboratory, USA)
  • Joachim Maier (Max Planck Institute, Germany)
  • Shirley Meng (University of California, San Diego, USA)
  • Abbas Nazri (Wayne State University, USA)
  • Emanuel Peled (Tel Aviv University, Israel)
  • Jeff Sakamoto (University of Michigan, USA)
  • Jean Marie Tarascon (College De France, France)

Symposium Organizers

Jagjit Nanda
Oak Ridge National Laboratory
Materials Science and Technology

Kisuk Kang
Seoul National University
Republic of Korea

John Lemmon
Pacific Northwest National Laboratory

Yusheng Zhao
University of Nevada, Las Vegas