Meetings & Events

Publishing Alliance

MRS publishes with Springer Nature


Corporate Partners


2015 MRS Fall Meeting Logo2015 MRS Fall Meeting & Exhibit

November 29-December 4, 2015 | Boston
Meeting Chairs: T. John Balk, Ram Devanathan, George G. Malliaras, Larry A. Nagahara, Luisa Torsi

Symposium Q—Nano Carbon Materials—1D to 3D

Nano carbon (C) materials including 1D nanotubes, 2D graphene and their 3D architectures possess unprecedented characteristic features such as high strength, outstanding electrical and thermal conductivities that cannot be observed or achieved using other materials. They hold great potential for various practical applications, offering interesting prospects toward many novel technologies.

The Nano-Carbon Materials1D to 3D symposium aims to address progresses on structural design, synthesis, functionalization, physical properties and comprehensive applications of 1D, 2D & 3D nano-C. Interdisciplinary topics will include - but are not limited to - functionalized nano-C, nano-C-based devices and large-scale production of C nanotubes, graphene and their 3D derivatives. These and other challenges related to physics, chemistry, materials science and engineering will be addressed by invited talks in order to accelerate the development of nano-C.

Topics will include:

  • Atomic nucleation and growth mechanism of metal and nonmetal catalytic graphitization and low-dimensional carbon nanostructures
  • Recent advances in nano-carbon based composite fabrications and characterization
  • Applications and commercialization
  • Recent advances in graphene exfoliation, growth, and nano-composite fabrication techniques, and cost-effective and scalable methods
  • Characterization of graphene, graphene oxides and graphene nano-composites
  • 3D nano-carbon materials
  • Theoretical studies with experiments with multi-functionalities at multiple scales
  • Hierarchical graphene architectures and assemblies with bio-materials
  • Surface and edge chemistry and functionalization
  • Interfaces and surface structures and substrate effects on electronic properties
  • Nonlinear optics, photonics, plasmonics, and optoelectronics
  • Flexible and stretchable electronics
  • Transport properties and novel electronic devices
  • Energy-storage applications: supercapacitors and batteries
  • Photovoltaic devices and transparent electrodes
  • Thermal and mechanical properties and applications of carbon nanostructures
  • Biological interactions, sensors, imaging, nanomedicine, drug delivery, and toxicity studies
  • Catalytic properties and applications of carbon nanomaterials

Invited Speakers:

  • Pulickel Ajayan (Rice University, USA)
  • Jong-Beom Baek (UNIST, USA)
  • Ray Baughman (University of Texas, Dallas, USA)
  • Juergen Beiner (Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory, USA)
  • Jian-feng Chen (Beijing University of Chemical Technology, USA)
  • Edward Conrad (Georgia Institute of Technology, USA)
  • Vincent Derycke (Commissariat à l’Energie Atomique et aux Energies Alternatives, France)
  • Mildred Dresselhaus (Massachusetts Institute of Technology, USA)
  • Kurt Gaskill (Naval Research Laboratory, USA)
  • Dmitri Golberg (National Institute for Materials Science, Japan)
  • Robert Hurt (Brown University, USA)
  • Francesca Iacopi (Griffith University, Australia)
  • Philip Kim (Harvard University, USA)
  • Jie Liu (Duke University, USA)
  • Weijie Lu (Air Force Research Laboratory, USA)
  • Benji Maruyama (Air Force Research Laboratory, USA)
  • Meyya Meyyappan (NASA, USA)
  • Taiichi Otsuji (Research Institute of Electrical Communications (RIEC), Tohoky University, Japan)
  • Ruth Pachter (Air Force Research Laboratory, USA)
  • Liangti Qu (Beijing Institute of Technology, China)
  • John Robertson (Cambridge University, United Kingdom)
  • Ajit Roy (Air Force Research Laboratory, USA)
  • Mark H. Ruemmeli (Leibniz Institute, Germany)
  • Rodney Ruoff (University of Texas at Austin, USA)
  • Zhong Lin Wang (Georgia Institute of Technology, USA)
  • Fei Wei (Tshinghua University, China)
  • Gang Wu (University of Buffalo, SUNY, USA)
  • Zhenhai Xia (University of North Texas, USA)
  • Rotzita Yakimova (Linkoping University, Sweden)
  • Jin Zhang (Peking University, China)

Symposium Organizers

Ming Xu
Huazhong University of Science and Technology
College of Materials Science and Engineering

John Boeckl
Air Force Research Laboratory
Nanoelectronics Materials Branch

Liming Dai
Case Western Reserve University,Center of Advanced Science and Engineering for Carbon
Department of Macromolecular Science and Engineering

Patrick Soukiassian
Commissariat à l’Energie Atomique et aux Energies Alternatives and Université de Paris-Sud