Meetings & Events

Publishing Alliance

MRS publishes with Springer Nature


Corporate Partners


2015 MRS Fall Meeting Logo2015 MRS Fall Meeting & Exhibit

November 29-December 4, 2015 | Boston
Meeting Chairs: T. John Balk, Ram Devanathan, George G. Malliaras, Larry A. Nagahara, Luisa Torsi

Symposium Z—Molecularly Ordered Organic and Polymer Semiconductors—Fundamentals and Devices

This symposium will focus on advances in materials growth, device fabrication and understanding intrinsic charge carrier transport and optical properties of highly ordered organic semiconductors. The latter class of materials includes small-molecule organic molecular crystals, large grain-size polycrystalline organic films and highly ordered (liquid crystalline) conjugated polymers. Due to the reduced disorder, studies of these devices in recent years have resulted in immense progress in understanding of fundamental properties of organic semiconductors. Among the recent developments that will be presented are advances in materials synthesis, organic single-crystal growth, reduction of traps, device patterning, structure-property relationship studies, device physics, fundamentals of charge and exciton dynamics, characterization of bulk/interfacial properties at various length-scales.

Topics will include:

  • Organic small-molecule single-crystal devices
  • Highly-ordered (liquid crystalline) polymer devices
  • Solution-processable, large-grain, thin film devices
  • New materials and structures for crystallization and device fabrication
  • Single-crystal nanostructures
  • Patterning and controlled nucleation of (single-crystal) devices
  • Charge transport in molecularly ordered organics (mobility, Hall effect, thermal transport)
  • Optical properties of molecularly ordered organics (excitons, polaritons, photoconductivity)
  • Surfaces and interfaces (UPS, ARPES, SIMS, STM, AFM)
  • Device physics (contacts, interfaces, traps, strain-stress)
  • Characterization of molecularly ordered thin films

Invited Speakers:

  • Aram Amassian (KAUST, Saudi Arabia)
  • Thomas Anthopolous (Imperial College, United Kingdom)
  • Mike Barnes (University of Massachusetts Amherst, USA)
  • David Beljonne (University of Mons, Belgium)
  • Eric Bittner (University of Houston, USA)
  • Ioan Botiz (Babse-Bolyai University, Romania)
  • Kenneth Carter (University of Massachusetts Amherst, USA)
  • C. Daniel Frisbie (University of Minnesota, USA)
  • Yves Geerts (Université Libre de Bruxelles, Belgium)
  • Peter Grütter (McGill University, Canada)
  • George Hadziioannou (University Bordeaux, France)
  • Martin Heeney (Imperial College London, United Kingdom)
  • Oana Jurchescu (Wake Forest University, USA)
  • Howard Katz (Johns Hopkins University, USA)
  • Stéphane Kéna-Cohen (École Polytechnique de Montréal, Canada)
  • Tobin J. Marks (Northwestern University, USA)
  • Martyn McLachlan (Imperial College London, United Kingdom)
  • Christian Müller (Chalmers University of Technology, Sweden)
  • Vitaly Podzorov (Rutgers University, USA)
  • Barry Rand (Princeton University, USA)
  • Chad Risko (University of Kentucky, USA)
  • Alberto Salleo (Stanford University, USA)
  • Henning Sirringhaus (University of Cambridge, United Kingdom)
  • Kazuo Takimiya (Hiroshima Univ., Japan)
  • Alessandro Troisi (Warwick University, United Kingdom)
  • Guillaume Wantz (University of Bordeaux, France)

Symposium Organizers

Carlos Silva
Université de Montréal
Department of Physics

Alejandro Briseno
University of Massachusetts Amherst
Department of Polymer Science and Engineering

Antonio Facchetti
Polyera Corporation

Natalie Stingelin
Imperial College London
Department of Materials
United Kingdom