Symposium BM2—Stimuli Responsive Organic and Inorganic Nanomaterials for Biomedical Applications and Biosafety

The objective of this symposium is to highlight the latest advancement in the field of organic, inorganic, and hybrid based nanoparticles in terms of their stimuli responsive biomedical applications and biosafety. Speakers involving prominent scientists in the field will be presenting on systems ranging from functionalized silica or calcium carbonate nanoparticles to metallic or metal-oxide structures such as iron, gadolinium oxide, or gold nanoparticles inaddition to organic based nanoparticles such as polymeric based systems. Progress in hybrid nanoparticles will also be highlighted to provide a general overview of the latest nanoparticles that are being used in the biomedical field. The presentations will include in addition to recent updates a general prospective on the future of these materials especially when it comes to biosafety and possible environmental concerns.

Topics will include:

  • Sol-Gel Synthesis of Smart Hybrid Materials
  • Metallic and Metal Oxide Smart Hybrid Systems
  • Polymeric Nanoparticles in Biomedical Applications
  • Biodegradable Smart Hybrid Materials
  • Biodegradability and Saftey of Organic Based Nanoparticles
  • Biomedical Applications of Functionalized Silica based Systems
  • Advances in Characterization and Imaging Techniques of Bio-applicable Nanoparticles
  • Assessing Biosafety and Environmental Implications of Organic-Inorganic Hybrid Nanomaterials

Invited Speakers:

  • Mohamed Askar (Aramco, USA)
  • Mélanie Auffan (Cerege, France)
  • Thomas Bein (University of München, Germany)
  • Jeffrey Brinker (Sandia National Laboratories, USA)
  • Chung Hang Jonathan Choi (The Chinese University of Hong Kong, Hong Kong)
  • Luisa de Cola (University of Strasburg, France)
  • Magali Gary-Bobo (University of Montpellier, France)
  • James Hedrick (IBM, USA)
  • Muriel Barberi Heyob (CRAN, University Lorraine, France)
  • Nikola Knezevic (VINCA, University of Belgrade, Serbia/Montenegro)
  • Mika Linden (University of Ulm, Germany)
  • Luis Liz-Marzan (Cicbiomagune, Spain)
  • Leu-Wei Lo (National Health Research Institute Zhunan, Taiwan)
  • Chung-Yuan Mou (National Taiwan University, Taiwan)
  • Catherine Murphy (University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, USA)
  • Andre Nel (University of California, Los Angeles, USA)
  • Zhihong Nie (University of Maryland, USA)
  • Christine Payne (Georgia Institute of Technology, USA)
  • Michael Sailor (University of California, San Diego, USA)
  • Yanli-Wei Yang (Jilin University, China)
  • Jackie Ying (A Star, Singapore)
  • Yanli Zhao (Nanyang University, Singapore)

Symposium Organizers

Niveen Khashab
King Abdullah University of Science and Technology
Physical Sciences and Engineering
Saudi Arabia

Jean-Olivier Durand
Université Montpellier
Ingénierie Moléculaire et Nano-Objets
00-33-(0)-4-67-14-45-01, durand@univ-montp2.fr

Jeffrey Zink
University of California, Los Angeles
Chemistry and Biochemistry
310-825-1001, zink@chem.ucla.edu