Symposium EC1—Redox Activity on the Molecular Level—Fundamental Studies and Applications

Redox activity in organic and organometallic compounds has led to their use in a variety of applications in energy transfer, collection, and storage. Whether within an individual molecule, between a donor and acceptor, or at an electrode electrolyte interface, the movement of electrons is determined by a material’s steric and electronic structure as well as its surroundings. Analysis of the electrochemical properties of organic and organometallic species as well as the reactivity of oxidized or reduced states has led to major advances in applications that use redox-active components in their function. This symposium will include fundamental studies of small molecules and macromolecules containing redox-active moieties as well as their use in applications such as electrochemical energy storage, dye-sensitized solar cells, electrochemically-enabled synthesis, and molecular switches.

Topics will include:

  • electro-active compounds in redox flow batteries
  • redox shuttles for overcharge protection
  • redox shuttles in dye-sensitized solar cells
  • polymers for overcharge protection
  • redox shuttles for Li-air batteries
  • redox-active organic and organometallic electrodes
  • redox-active metal organic frameworks
  • redox-active building blocks in supramolecular structures
  • reactions of radical anions and radical cations
  • redox catalysis
  • studies of model systems

Invited Speakers:

  • Kunio Awaga (Nagoya University, Japan)
  • Stephen Barlow (Georgia Institute of Technology, USA)
  • Andrew Boydston (University of Washington, USA)
  • Peter Bruce (University of Oxford, England)
  • Fikile Brushett (Massachusetts Institute of Technology, USA)
  • Thomas Hamann (Michigan State University, USA)
  • Jodie Lutkenhaus (Texas A&M University, USA)
  • Kevin Moeller (Washington University in St. Louis, USA)
  • Sri Narayan (University of Southern California, USA)
  • Linda Nazar (University of Waterloo, Canada)
  • Daniel Nocera (Harvard University, USA)
  • Erwin Reisner (University of Cambridge, England)
  • Chad Risko (University of Kentucky, USA)
  • Dominic Rochefort (University of Montreal, Canada)
  • J. D. Tovar (Johns Hopkins University, USA)
  • Latha Venkataraman (Columbia University, USA)
  • Aron Walsh (University of Bath, England)
  • Xiaoliang Wei (Pacific Northwest National Laboratory, USA)

Symposium Organizers

Susan Odom
University of Kentucky
Department of Chemistry
859-257-3294, susan.odom@uky.edu

Mitchell Anstey
Davidson College
Department of Chemistry
650-619-9749, mianstey@davidson.edu

Luis Campos
Columbia University
Department of Chemistry
212-854-9561, lcampos@columbia.edu

Neil Tomson
University of Pennsylvania
Department of Chemistry
215-898-6208, tomson@sas.upenn.edu