Symposium MB2—Materials under Mechanical Extremes

The design of next-generation structural applications relies on the ability to not only predict, but also tailor material response under extremes of applied pressure, strain, strain-rates, and shock to resist failure. The response of these materials relies on their ability to distribute load as they deform plastically via nucleation, and propagation of defects, as well as activate failure mechanisms such as crack nucleation and growth. The recent advances in theory, modeling, simulation, synthesis, as well as in-situ characterization of microstructural evolution and properties provide the ability to understand and control the evolution of microstructure during deformation.

The aim of this symposium is to bring together researchers leading the efforts in the theory, computations, and experimental characterization to discuss the current state of this endeavor, and examine the outlook for accelerated materials design.

Topics will include:

  • Microstructural effects on defect nucleation and evolution
  • Failure mechanics and criteria
  • Multi-scale computational methods (concurrent/hierarchical)
  • Phase transformation mechanisms
  • Computational design of microstructures
  • Genomics and informatics approaches
  • In-situ characterization of materials response
  • High-temperature mechanical response

Invited Speakers:

  • David Bahr (Purdue University, USA)
  • Donald Brenner (North Carolina State University, USA)
  • Eduardo Bringa (Universidad Nacional de Cuyo, Argentina)
  • Curt Bronkhorst (Los Alamos National Laboratory, USA)
  • Wei Cai (Stanford University, USA)
  • Timothy Germann (Los Alamos National Laboratory, USA)
  • Subhash Ghatu (University of Florida, USA)
  • Peter Hosemann (University of California, Berkeley, USA)
  • Javier Llorca (IMDEA Materials Institute, Spain)
  • Nathan Mara (Los Alamos National Laboratory, USA)
  • Emmanuelle Marquis (University of Michigan, USA)
  • Suveen Mathaudhu (University of California, Riverside, USA)
  • Marc Meyers (University of California, San Diego, USA)
  • Johann Michler (EMPA, Switzerland)
  • Amit Misra (University of Michigan, USA)
  • Corinne Packard (Colorado School of Mines, USA)
  • Teresa Perez-Prado (IMDEA Materials Institute, Spain)
  • Tresa Pollock (University of California, Santa Barbara, USA)
  • K. T. Ramesh (Johns Hopkins University, USA)
  • David Rodney (Universite de Lyon, France)
  • Christopher Schuh (Massachusetts Institute of Technology, USA)
  • Naresh Thadhani (Georgia Institute of Technology, USA)
  • Ludovic Thilly (University of Poitiers, France)
  • Priya Vashishta (University of Southern California, USA)
  • Yuntian Zhu (North Carolina State University, USA)

Symposium Organizers

Avinash Dongare
University of Connecticut
Materials Science and Engineering, Institute of Materials Science
1-(860) 486-2592, dongare@uconn.edu

Irene Beyerlein
Los Alamos National Laboratory
Theoretical Division
1-505-665-2231, irene@lanl.gov

Jaafar El-Awady
Johns Hopkins University
Department of Mechanical Engineering
1-410-516-6683, jelawady@jhu.edu

Leslie Lamberson
Drexel University
Mechanical Engineering & Mechanics/Dept. of Materials Science & Engineering
1-215-571-3519, les@drexel.edu