Symposium MB5—Size Effects and Small-Scale Mechanical Behavior of Materials

Deformation and failure mechanisms in materials become size-dependent when sample dimensions and/or microstructures approach the sub-micrometer regime. Size effects include the increase in strength of nanopillars and nanowires, the rise in hardness and change in flow stress of nanocrystalline materials and multilayer thin films, or the improved fatigue lifetime found in studies of thin metallic films as well as materials that approach their theoretical strength. However, size effects can also manifest themselves as changes in deformation mechanisms such as a transition from plastic flow to fracture and vice versa.

This symposium will focus on the interplay between microstructural and deformation length-scales in inorganic materials. The goal of this symposium is to discuss the fundamental principles and deformation mechanisms leading to size effects in the mechanical behavior of materials and structures in terms of strength and plastic flow behavior. Experimental contributions but also closely related modeling or simulation papers of small-scale mechanical deformation are encouraged.

Topics will include:

  • Mechanical phenomena in small-scale materials and structures, including thin films and multilayers, micro- and nanopillars, nanowires and -tubes, nanocomposites and ultra-fine and nanocrystalline materials
  • Microstructural evolution during deformation and new deformation mechanisms
  • Size and length scale effects in the mechanical response of bioinspired inorganic materials
  • Multiscale modeling and simulations of mechanical behavior of micro- and nanostructures
  • Novel characterization techniques with improved spatial or temporal resolution
  • Ex-situ and in-situ mechanical characterization

Invited Speakers:

  • Brad L. Boyce (Sandia National Laboratories, USA)
  • Christian Brandl (Karlsruhe Institute of Technology, Germany)
  • Megan J. Cordill (Erich Schmid Institute of Materials Science, Austria)
  • Daniel S. Gianola (University of California, Santa Barbara, USA)
  • Andrea M. Hodge (University of Southern California, USA)
  • Dennis M. Kochmann (California Institute of Technology, USA)
  • Sandra Korte-Kerzel (RWTH Aachen University, Germany)
  • Mo Li (Georgia Institute of Technology, USA)
  • Xiaodong Li (University of Virginia, USA)
  • Andrew M. Minor (University of California, Berkeley, USA)
  • Amit Misra (University of Michigan, USA)
  • Alfonso Ngan (Hong Kong University, Hong Kong)
  • Zhiwei Shan (Xi'an Jiaotong University, China)

Symposium Organizers

Ruth Schwaiger
Karlsruhe Institute of Technology
Institute for Applied Materials (IAM-WBM)
49-721-608-24878, ruth.schwaiger@kit.edu

Timothy J. Rupert
University of California, Irvine
Department of Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering
949-824-4937, trupert@uci.edu

Christopher R. Weinberger
Drexel University
Department of Mechanical Engineering and Mechanics

Guang-Ping Zhang
Shenyang National Laboratory for Materials Science
Institute of Metal Research, Chinese Academy of Sciences
86-24-23971938, gpzhang@imr.ac.cn