Symposium ES05—Materials and Design for Resilient Energy Storage

Increased prevalence of energy storage at a system level for vehicle, aviation and stationary storage applications depend on safe and robust design from cell level components and power electronics materials, through to modeling, system design and suppressants. Complex off-normal events involving liquid, mist and vapor flammable chemicals, electrodes and casings, as well as ancillary power electronics have required understanding potential failures and design ways of mitigating their risk and severity. Modeling and empirical studies of the use of containment for failed systems, in addition to suppressant selection and application are all heavily reliant on better materials understanding at every level of design for energy storage. Without compromising on cost or form factor, more inherently safe electrochemical storage must be developed, and integration must be done using engineered safety with a deep understanding of risk and failure propagation. Current experimental and theoretical approaches to materials safety of energy storage of single material components, or cell level assembly are also critical to building in resilient energy storage. The effect of off-normal conditions such as internal short, external overcharge or over temperature for example provide another aspect critical to understanding materials properties and effects on cell to system resilience and safety.

Topics will include:

  • Electrolyte additives: suppressant materials
  • Thermal runaway and propagation
  • Solid electroytes
  • Thermal modeling
  • Failure mitigation: suppressant chemistries
  • Cell safety devices: vents, positive thermal coefficient devices
  • Product development and reliability assessment
  • Failure mechanisms of materials and cells
  • A tutorial complementing this symposium is tentatively planned.

Invited Speakers:

  • Sai Bhavaraju (Ceramatec, USA)
  • Thierry Carriere (ADA Technologies, USA)
  • John Hewson (Sandia National Laboratories, USA)
  • Jodie Lutkenhaus (Texas A&M University, USA)
  • Britt Reichborn-Kjennerud (Con Edison, USA)
  • Hideki Satake (National Institute of Technology and Evaluation, Japan)
  • Rengaswamy (Srini) Srinivasan (The Johns Hopkins University, USA)

Symposium Organizers

Summer Ferreira
Sandia National Laboratories

Judy Jeevarajan
Underwriters Laboratories Inc.
Research Director-Electrochemical Safety

Hiroyuki Kubo
National Institute of Technology and Evaluation

Brittany Westlake
Electric Power Research Institute

Publishing Alliance

MRS publishes with Springer Nature


Corporate Partners