Symposium ES11—Silicon for Photovoltaics

The last few years have seen a tremendous progress in the research and development of high-efficiency silicon photovoltaics, evidenced by the establishment of the new world record at 26.33% by Kaneka, Japan (September 2016). Key enabling factors have been (i) the increasing quality of absorber materials, (ii) the development of carrier-selective passivating contacts and (iii) the design of device architectures towards maximal current generation. This symposium is focused on these three factors, and especially welcomes scientific and technological contributions aimed at increasing the conversion efficiency and/or lowering the material and fabrication costs by using silicon or silicon-enabled photovoltaic materials.

In greater detail:

Absorber materials: Wire-sawn Cz-grown monocrystalline silicon is currently the substrate of choice for high-efficiency silicon photovoltaics. Here we are especially interested in the development of new silicon-enabled absorbers (e.g. BaSi2, new allotropes of Si, etc.) and in alternative substrate fabrication methods such as layer separation/transfer or laser-/metal-induced crystallization aimed at the fabrication of kerfless and ultra-thin silicon substrates.

Carrier-selective passivating contacts: Contacts aimed at the selective collection of one type of carrier and avoidance of recombination of the opposite carrier type have been shown to be instrumental for high performance devices. Here we welcome contributions discussing their fundamental underlying principles (i.e. surface passivation, band structure, Fermi-level pinning at interfaces), deposition methods, new materials (including transparent electrodes and doping-free approaches) and new functionalities (temperature stability, transparency, local depositions).

Photon management: Micro-scale front texturing and dielectric spacer / metallic rear reflector constitute state-of-the-art light management techniques. Here we also look forward to contributions aimed at improved utilization of the solar spectrum, by novel optical designs, surface texturing, development of back-contacted architectures, and especially silicon-based tandem solar cells, combined with perovskite, III-V groups materials or alternative top cells.

Submissions are encouraged on the materials science, fabrication, device application, theory, simulation, and characterization in these emerging areas.

Topics will include:

  • Silicon and silicon-enabled photovoltaic devices, such as silicon heterojunction and carrier-selective passivating contact solar cells, all-silicon tandem solar cells, tandem-on-silicon solar cells using perovskite, III-V groups materials, or alternative top cells, new device
  • Absorber, contact, passivation, transparent conductor, and metallization materials for silicon (or tandem) photovoltaic devices
  • Silicon film materials such as (hydrogenated) amorphous silicon, silicon carbides and oxides, epitaxial silicon and epitaxial layers on silicon, silicon-germanium, barium-disilicide and silicon-(carbon-) tin alloys
  • Methods of making silicon including (PE) CVD growth, kerfless wafering, and laser- and metal-induced crystallization
  • Characterization and modeling of the structural, mechanical, electrical, and optical properties of silicon-related materials and devices

Invited Speakers:

  • Christiane Becker (Helmholtz Zentrum Berlin, Germany)
  • Marcie R. Black (Advanced Silicon Group, USA)
  • Valerie Depauw (imec, Belgium)
  • Frank Feldman (Fraunhofer ISE, Germany)
  • Giulia Galli (University of Chicago, USA)
  • Kosuke O. Hara (University of Yamanashi, Japan)
  • Ali Javey (University of California, Berkeley, USA)
  • Daniel Macdonald (Australian National University, Australia)
  • Monica Morales-Masis (Ecole Polytechnique Fédérale de Lausanne, Switzerland)
  • John Robertson (Cambridge University, United Kingdom)
  • Hitoshi Sai (National Institute of Advanced Industrial Science and Technology, Japan)
  • Krishna Saraswat (Stanford University, USA)
  • Hele Savin (Aalto University, Finland)
  • Wei Shan (JA Solar, China)
  • Adele Tamboli (National Renewable Energy Laboratory, USA)
  • Thomas White (Australian National University, Australia)
  • Kenji Yamamoto (Kaneka, Japan)
  • David L. Young (National Renewable Energy Laboratory, USA)

Symposium Organizers

Olindo Isabella
TU Delft

Stefaan De Wolf
King Abdullah University of Science and Technology (KAUST)
Saudi Arabia

Lakshmi Krishna
Colorado School of Mines

Noritaka Usami
Nagoya University

Publishing Alliance

MRS publishes with Springer Nature


Corporate Partners