Symposium PM02—Advances and Upcoming Research Strategies in Reactive Materials

Reactive materials are composites which exothermically react upon ignition, resulting in a rapid burst of energy in the form of pressure and/or heat. These materials differ from explosives in that they do not detonate, and they differ from propellants in that the mixing length scales are significantly smaller, thus drastically decreasing the kinetic time scale. However, flame speeds in reactive materials bridge six orders of magnitude allowing for use in a diversity of fields including joining/welding, pyrotechnics, transient electronics, or medicine. To adjust the reactivity according to the demands of a given application, researchers pursue precise control over the reactive behavior and have found that factors such as particle size or reactant spacing, stoichiometry, burn rate modifiers, pressure, density, and architecture, enable tuning and control of reactivity. This has long been a motivational topic within this community, and inspires fundamental research for an in-depth understanding of reactive materials. With the arrival of new additive manufacturing techniques to the reactive materials field, new methods for control of architecture, stoichiometry or reactant spacing are now available and have provided intriguing new avenues for reaction tuning. The factors enabling reaction tuning have to be reassessed, which defines a novel field of research for the community. This symposium will focus on (1) latest research on processing, characterization, and modeling of reactive materials and (2) the integration of additive manufacturing approaches to fabricate complex structures made of reactive materials, such as thermites (i.e. Al/CuO, Si/NaClO4) and intermetallics (i.e. Al/Ni or Ti/B). There have been several recent advancements in this research field, and this meeting will serve as a platform for the contributors to collectively think about what challenges lie ahead. Contributions are encouraged from academia, government, and industry, and we anticipate that this symposium will serve to provide more synergy and collaboration between various institutions and countries with interests in reactive materials research and applications.

Topics will include:

  • Processing of reactive materials (printing, mechanical milling, deposition, mixing, assembly)
  • The integration of additive manufacturing approaches with reactive materials
  • Novel fuels and/or oxidizers (clusters, biocidal oxidizers, size and morphological control)
  • Rapid heating in-situ characterization techniques (dynamic microscopy, temperature measurements, pressurization rate, flame propagation velocity, optical pyrometry, mass spectrometry)
  • Other reactive material characterization techniques (mechanical testing, thermal analysis, microscopy)
  • Modeling of ignition and reaction mechanisms (analytical, numeric, and MD simulations)
  • Current or potential applications of energetic materials (joining, agent defeat, pyrotechnics, transient electronics, medical)
  • Thin film or MEMS based methods (porous silicon, electro-spinning, sputter deposition)

Invited Speakers:

  • David Adams (Sandia National Laboratories, USA)
  • Joerg Brauer (Bosch Sensortec, Germany)
  • Katie Brown (Los Alamos National Laboratory, USA)
  • Jennifer Ciezak-Jenkins (U.S. Army Research Laboratory, USA)
  • Christopher Crouse (Air Force Research Laboratory, USA)
  • Shubhra Gangopadhyay (University of Missouri, USA)
  • Jennifer Gottfried (U.S. Army Research Laboratory, USA)
  • Lori Groven (South Dakota School of Mines and Technology, USA)
  • Huey Hoon HNG (Nanyang Technical University, Singapore)
  • Anguang Hu (Defence Research and Development Canada, Canada)
  • Keerti Kappagantula (Ohio University, USA)
  • Jon-Paul Maria (North Carolina State University, USA)
  • Jena McCollum (University of Colorado, Colorado Springs, USA)
  • Lauren Morris (ARDEC, USA)
  • Michelle Pantoya (Texas Tech University, USA)
  • Claus Rebholz (Cyprus University, Cyprus)
  • Robert Reeves (Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory, USA)
  • Carole Rossi (LAAS-CNRS, France)
  • D. Scott Stewart (University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, USA)
  • Robert Wardle (Orbital ATK, USA)
  • Richard Yetter (Pennsylvania State University, USA)
  • Michael Zachariah (University of Maryland, USA)

Symposium Organizers

Nicholas Piekiel
U.S. Army Research Laboratory
Sensors and Electron Devices Directorate

Steven Son
Purdue University
Mechanical Engineering

Karsten Woll
Karlsruhe Institute of Technology (KIT)
Institute for Applied Materials (IAM)

Xiaolin Zheng
Stanford University
Mechanical Engineering

Publishing Alliance

MRS publishes with Springer Nature


Corporate Partners