Symposium PM03—Interfaces and Interface Engineering in Inorganic Materials

Interfaces play a critical role in a variety of properties of materials. For example, grain boundaries and triple junctions in polycrystalline materials influence microstructure evolution and mechanical properties; phase boundaries in multi-phase materials affect damage nucleation and fracture behavior; interfaces in multilayered structures and hybrid material systems often dictate their properties. In recent years, various interface engineering strategies have been developed to alter interfaces and interface networks in materials and improve their properties, including, but not limited to, increasing interface densities by nano-engineering, altering interface networks, altering the atomic structures at interfaces by doping and irradiation, changing phases at interfaces, etc. This symposium aims to cover the fundamental science of interfaces in inorganic materials and the latest progress in the understanding of interface structures, correlations between interface properties and material performance, and interface engineering.

Topics will include:

  • Interface structure at the atomic and meso-scale
  • Interface-driven microstructure evolution
  • Interface-mediated mechanical properties
  • Interfaces and interface density effects in nanostructured materials and multilayered structures
  • Interface character distribution change (e.g., by thermomechanical processing, texture engineering)
  • Interface structure changes related to doping (solute segregation, new phase formation) and irradiation
  • Interface-induced stresses
  • Heterointerfaces
  • Theoretical and computational modeling of interface behavior
  • Characterization of interfaces

Invited Speakers:

  • David Armstrong (University of Oxford, United Kingdom)
  • Stéphane Berbenni (University of Lorraine, France)
  • Irene Beyerlein (University of California, Santa Barbara, USA)
  • Julie Cairney (University of Sydney, Australia)
  • Carmen Cepeda (IMDEA Materials Institute, Spain)
  • Rostislav Daniel (Montanuniversität Leoben, Austria)
  • Daniel Gianola (University of California, Santa Barbara, USA)
  • Martin Harmer (Lehigh University, USA)
  • Elizabeth Holm (Carnegie Mellon University, USA)
  • Jeffrey Hoyt (McMaster University, Canada)
  • Rebecca Janisch (Ruhr-Universität Bochum, Germany)
  • Michelle Johannes (U.S. Naval Research Laboratory, USA)
  • Megumi Kawasaki (Hanyang University, Republic of Korea)
  • Carl Krill (Ulm University, Germany)
  • Mukul Kumar (Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory, USA)
  • Marc Legros (The National Center for Scientific Research, France)
  • Pavel Lejcek (Academy of Sciences of the Czech Republic, Czech Republic)
  • David Mebane (West Virginia University, USA)
  • Dmitri Molodov (RWTH Aachen University, Germany)
  • Dierk Raabe (Max-Planck-Institut für Eisenforschung GmbH, Germany)
  • Ian Robertson (University of Wisconsin–Madison, USA)
  • Gregory Rohrer (Carnegie Mellon University, USA)
  • Christopher Schuh (Massachusetts Institute of Technology, USA)
  • Ruth Schwaiger (Karlsruhe Institute of Technology, Germany)
  • Tomotsugu Shimokawa (Kanazawa University, Japan)
  • Roger De Souza (RWTH Aachen University, Germany)
  • Ashley Spear (University of Utah, USA)
  • David Srolovitz (University of Pennsylvania, USA)
  • Helena Van Swygenhoven (Paul Scherrer Institute, Switzerland)
  • Hiroyuki Toda (Kyushu University, Japan)
  • Zhefeng Zhang (Chinese Academy of Sciences, China)

Symposium Organizers

Ying Chen
Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute
Department of Materials Science and Engineering

Erik Bitzek
Friedrich-Alexander-Universität Erlangen-Nürnberg (FAU)
Department of Materials Science and Engineering

María Teresa Pérez-Prado
IMDEA Materials Institute
Physical Metallurgy

David Rowenhorst
U.S. Naval Research Laboratory

Publishing Alliance

MRS publishes with Springer Nature


Corporate Partners