2019 MRS Fall Meeting & Exhibit

Call for Papers

Symposium EN08—Halide Perovskites for Photovoltaic Applications—Devices, Stability and Upscaling

The perovskite materials and their optoelectronic applications remain to be the hottest research subjects. For example, the fully inorganic halide perovskite has attracted lot of attention with its solar cell efficiency essentially doubled in the last year reaching values of over 17%. Stability regarding composition as well as phase separation and crystal structure is among the utmost challenges for perovskite solar cells, and has captured a considerable amount of research attention. Although the current state-of-the-art is still far from the eventual goal to compete with commercialized solar cells, research on degradation mechanisms and improved cell stability reported in recent publications do suggest that long-term stability could be achievable. In addition, new types of perovskite materials are constantly being explored and developed with the aim of replacing lead (e.g. in double perovskite materials) or to increase film stability (by using mixed dimensional perovskites). Another important research trend is the development of fabrication technologies for high throughput fabrication (e.g. slot die coating, spray coating, soft cover technique, vacuum evaporation and chemical vapor deposition, etc.), which would pave the way towards high thruput large area perovskite solar cells and modules with minimal device-to-device variations and therefore is essential for this technology to be commercialized. In addition, there have been ever increasing efforts in green processing, continuous roll-to-roll printing, etc.

This symposium will be an ideal forum for researchers in the field to present their progress in the area of photovoltaic application and to exchange their views, discuss current challenges, and identify future research topics. The rapid development of perovskite materials and devices in the past few years will be the strong foundation for this symposium.

To facilitate a comprehensive discussion on the topics, the symposium is organized to span over various principal topic areas as listed below. In addition, two joint sessions are organized, the first with symposium EN09 (Advances in the Fundamental Science of Halide Perovskite Optoelectronics) and the other with EN11(Silicon for Photovoltaics).

Topics will include:

  • Perovskite solar cell developments: Optimized material / device design; All-inorganic perovskite materials; Mix dimensional materials;New composition / lead free perovskites; Flexible solar cells
  • Perovskite tandem cells: Perovskite-based tandem and multijunction solar cells with efficiency potential beyond the S-Q limit
  • Stability issues in perovskite photovoltaics:Intrinsic and extrinsic degradation; Degradation mechanisms / pathways and challenges in solar cell design; Strategies for improved stability
  • Processing: Green processing; High-throughput fabrication technologies for large-area perovskite solar cells; Perovskite module design
  • A tutorial complementing this symposium is tentatively planned.

Invited Speakers:

  • Joseph Berry (National Renewable Energy Laboratory, USA)
  • Henk J. Bolink (Universitat de València, Spain)
  • David Cahen (Weizmann Institute of Science, Israel)
  • Juan-Pablo Correa-Baena (Georgia Institute of Technology, USA)
  • Songyuan Dai (North China Electric Power University, China)
  • Pablo Docampo (Newcastle University, United Kingdom)
  • Lioz Etgar (Hebrew University of Jerusalem, Israel)
  • Bin Fan (Weihua Solar, China)
  • Hongwei Han (HUST, China)
  • Shuzi Hayase (Kyushu Institute of Technology, Japan)
  • Jinsong Huang (University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill, USA)
  • Hyun Suk Jung (Sungkyunkwan University, Republic of Korea)
  • Prashant Kamat (University of Notre Dame, USA)
  • Tingli Ma (Dalian University of Technology, China)
  • David Mitzi (Duke University, USA)
  • Tsutomu Miyasaka (Toin University of Yokohama, Japan)
  • Mohammad K. Nazeeruddin (EPFL, Switzerland)
  • Luis K. Ono (Okinawa Institute of Science and Technology Graduate University, Japan)
  • Nam-Gyu Park (Sungkyunkwan University, Republic of Korea)
  • Michael Saliba (Adolphe Merkle Institute at Université de Fribourg, Switzerland)
  • Edward Sargent (University of Toronto, Canada)
  • Costas Stoumpos (Northwestern Univesity, USA)
  • Aron Walsh (Imperial College London, United Kingdom)
  • Yanfa Yan (University of Toledo, USA)
  • Shihe Yang (Hong Kong University of Science and Technology, China)
  • Jingbi You (Institute of Semiconductor, Chinese Academy of Sciences, China)
  • Yixin Zhao (Shanghai Jiao Tong University, China)

Symposium Organizers

Shengzhong (Frank) Liu
Shaanxi Normal University

Selina Olthof
University of Cologne
Institute of Physical Chemistry

Yabing Qi
Okinawa Institute of Science and Technology
Energy Materials and Surface Sciences Unit (EMSS)

Kai Zhu
National Renewable Energy Laboratory

Publishing Alliance

MRS publishes with Springer Nature


Corporate Partners

Symposium Support