2019 MRS Fall Meeting & Exhibit

Call for Papers

Symposium EN09—Advances in the Fundamental Science of Halide Perovskite Optoelectronics

Research on Halide Perovskites (HaPs) experienced a surge in the past half dozen years due to the breakthrough success in optoelectronics including a new archetype of solar cells. The focus of the symposium will be on the underpinnings of the materials properties (photovoltaic, electroluminescent, dielectric/ ferroelectric/ferroelastic, thermoelectric, electrochemical, etc.) in the bulk material, at the surface, and at the interfaces to other material systems. The versatile performance of HaPs has been ascribed to their remarkable semiconductor properties (e.g. long-lived charge carriers, near unity internal quantum yield, defect tolerance, self-healing, etc.). While the remarkable structural and optoelectronic properties do not stand out as unusual if looked at individually, the combination of these traits in one material has put HaPs in the spotlight within the fields of physics, chemistry and materials science. To facilitate a comprehensive debate, the symposium will span over various topic areas covering experimental and theoretical approaches: One part of the symposium will focus on thin-film and crystal synthesis, meso- and nanoscale structuring, and the achievement of lower dimensional systems, all of which includes crystal theory, nucleation mechanisms and materials design. The other part of the symposium will focus on the characterization, analysis and understanding of the optoelectronic properties. Among these topics are theoretical ab-initio calculations, the description of ion, charge and phonon dynamics, defect science, grain-boundary phenomena, and the role of surfaces and interfaces for charge and energy transfer. The symposium will hence cover a broad spectrum of basic science, from macro- and microscopic aspects down to quantum phenomena and nanoscience, for researchers who work on HaP materials and (opto)electronics. Beyond this focus, perovskite-related materials with similar properties will be featured along with new analysis methods in theory and experiment.

Topics will include:

  • Thin-film Formation, Meso- and Nanoscale Structuring
  • Synthetic Science, Crystal Chemistry and Single Crystals, including Alloying and Phase Transitions
  • Low Dimensional MHP Material Systems (e.g. 2D, Ruddlesden-Popper Phases, Quantum Dots, etc.)
  • Lead-free Perovskites and HaP-inspired Materials (e.g. Spinel Systems)
  • Theory and First-Principle Calculations
  • Electrons, Phonons, Charge-Carrier Dynamics, and Collective Transport Phenomena
  • Optical Processes, Non-linear Optics, Photonic Systems, and Spectroscopic Studies
  • Ion Migration, Mixed Electron/Ion Conduction, and Defect Science including Self-Healing Mechanisms
  • Multiscalar Approaches for Physiochemical Properties, Microscopic Characterization, and Nanoscience of HaPs
  • Surfaces and Interfaces: Charge Transfer, Recombination, Passivation, and Energy Level Alignment
  • Advanced Characterization: Transient and operando Spectroscopies, and Microscopy Methods

Invited Speakers:

  • Maria Chan (Argonne National Laboratory, USA)
  • Emmanuelle Deleporte (Ecole Normale Superieure Paris-Saclay, France)
  • David Egger (Technical University of Munich, Germany)
  • Jacky Even (Institut National des Sciences Appliquées de Rennes, France)
  • David Ginger (University of Washington, USA)
  • Laura Herz (University of Oxford, United Kingdom)
  • Antoine Kahn (Princeton Unviersity, USA)
  • Hemamala Karunadasa (Stanford University, USA)
  • Maksym Kovalenko (ETH Zürich, Switzerland)
  • Maria Antoinetta Loi (University of Groningen, Netherlands)
  • Laurent Lombez (Institut Photovoltaique d'Ile de France (IPVF - CNRS), France)
  • Yueh-Lin Loo (Princeton University, USA)
  • Joachim Maier (Max Planck Institute Stuttgart, Germany)
  • Iván Mora-Seró (Universitat Jaume I, Spain)
  • Annamaria Petrozza (Istituto Italiano di Tecnologia, Italy)
  • Paulina Plochocka (Laboratoire National des Champs Magnétiques Intenses (LNCMI - CNRS), France)
  • Yabing Qi (Okinawa Institute of Science and Technology, Japan)
  • Henry Snaith (University of Oxford, United Kingdom)
  • Adrienne Stiff-Roberts (Duke University, USA)
  • Sam Stranks (University of Cambridge, United Kingdom)
  • Su-Huai Wei (Beijing Computational Science Research Center, China)
  • Omer Yaffe (Weizmann Institute of Science, Israel)
  • Qing Zhao (Peking University, China)
  • Kai Zhu (National Renewable Energy Laboratory, USA)

Symposium Organizers

Philip Schulz
Centre National de la Recherche Scientifique (CNRS)
Institut Photovoltaique d'Ile de France (IPVF)

Joseph Berry
National Renewable Energy Laboratory (NREL)
Materials Science Center

Marina Leite
University of California, Davis
Department of Materials Science and Engineering

Yuanyuan Zhou
Hong Kong Baptist University
Department of Physics
Hong Kong

Publishing Alliance

MRS publishes with Springer Nature


Corporate Partners

Symposium Support