Symposium EN04-Decoding Halide Perovskites—Advanced Characterization Towards Optimization and Discovery

Over the last decades, metal halide perovskites became the materials of choice for a variety of applications including solar cells, photodetectors, light emitting diodes, lasing, high energy radiation sensors and memristors. Functionality of these materials is controlled by an interplay between many different phenomena, including phase polymorphism, variations in dimensionality (zero to three dimensions), ionic dynamics, electrochemical processes, and transfer dynamics. Exploiting the full spectrum of the functionality of metal halide perovskites will only be made possible by developing a detailed understanding of both their physical properties and ionic and transfer dynamics. In this symposium, we aim to present the most recent advances in exploring metal halide perovskites materials and devices using advanced characterization techniques including optical spectroscopies, chemical imaging, electron/scanning-probe microscopy, Mossbauer spectrometry and other state-of-the-art spectroscopic and microscopic methods.

Topics will include:

  • Micro- and nano-scale characterization of halide perovskites
  • Excitons in perovskites
  • Hot carriers in perovskites
  • The role of interfaces in perovskite degradation
  • Electronic defects
  • Mapping and imaging of ions and their dynamics
  • The role of band alignment in perovskite solar cells
  • Surface chemistry
  • Perovskites deposited by vapor processes

Invited Speakers (tentative):

  • Antonio Abate (Helmholtz-Zentrum Berlin, Germany)
  • Aram Amassiam (North Carolina State University, USA)
  • Pablo Boix (Universitat de València, Spain)
  • Henk Bolink (Universitat de València, Spain)
  • Sascha Feldmann (Harvard University, USA)
  • Jing Guo (First Solar, USA)
  • Peijun Guo (Yale University, USA)
  • Bin Hu (The University of Tennessee, Knoxville, USA)
  • Alex Jen (City University of Hong Kong, Hong Kong)
  • Dinesh Kabra (Indian Institute of Technology Bombay, India)
  • Prashant Kamat (University of Notre Dame, USA)
  • Marina Leite (University of California, Davis, USA)
  • Linn Leppert (University of Twente, Netherlands)
  • Monica Lira-Cantu (Catalan Institute of Nanoscience and Nanotechnology, Spain)
  • Maria Antonietta Loi (University of Groningen, Netherlands)
  • Ana Flavia Nogueira (Universidade Estadual de Campinas, Brazil)
  • Selina Olthof (University of Cologne, Germany)
  • Nam Gyu Park (Sungkyunkwan University, Republic of Korea)
  • Yabing Qi (Okinawa Institute of Science and Technology, Japan)
  • Erin Ratcliff (University of Arizona, USA)
  • Michael Saliba (Universität Stuttgart, Germany)
  • Laura Schelhas (National Renewable Energy Laboratory, USA)
  • Carolin Sutter-Fella (Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory, USA)
  • Konrad Wojciechowski (Saule Technologies, Poland)
  • Jingbi You (Institute of Semiconductors, Chinese Academy of Sciences, China)

Symposium Organizers

Juan-Pablo Correa-Baena
Georgia Institute of Technology

Mahshid Ahmadi
The University of Tennessee, Knoxville
No Phone for Symposium Organizer Provided , [email protected]

Yana Vainzof
Technische Universität Dresden
No Phone for Symposium Organizer Provided , [email protected]

Yuanyuan (Alvin) Zhou
The Hong Kong University of Science and Technology
Hong Kong
No Phone for Symposium Organizer Provided , [email protected]

Publishing Alliance

MRS publishes with Springer Nature


Symposium Support