2019 MRS Fall Meeting & Exhibit

Graduate Student Award Finalists' Special Talk Sessions

Tuesday, December 3
12:00 pm – 3:15 pm
Sheraton, 3rd Floor, Beacon A, B and G

The MRS Graduate Student Awards are intended to honor and encourage graduate students whose academic achievements and current materials research display a high level of excellence and distinction. In addition to the MRS Graduate Student Gold and Silver Awards, the Arthur Nowick Graduate Student Award, which honors the late Dr. Arthur Nowick and his lifelong commitment to teaching and mentoring students in materials science, will be presented to a GSA finalist who shows particular promise as a future teacher and mentor.

All Meeting attendees, especially students, are encouraged to attend the sessions.

Session 1—Beacon A

12:00    EL01.05.03    David Russell Barton*, Stanford University
12:15    EL03.11.05     Peter Benjamin Meisenheimer*, University of Michigan
12:30    FF01.03.09     Yin Liu*, University of California, Berkeley
12:45    MQ03.02.04    Megan O. Hill*, Northwestern University
1:00      MS02.04.05    Juyoung Leem*, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
1:15      EL01.10.07     Andrey Vyatskikh, California Institute of Technology
1:30      BREAK 
1:45      El03.06.10       Xuezeng Lu, Northwestern University
2:00      EL03.09.03      Martin H. Dehn,  The University of British Columbia
2:15      FF01.25.06      Yan Wang, University of Cambridge
2:30      FF03.08.06      Tatsuya Higaki, Carnegie Mellon University
2:45      FF04.05.08      Hua Zhu, Brown University
3:00      MS03.02.04     Chunhui Dai, University of Minnesota Twin Cities

Session 2—Beacon B

12:00    MT07.02.06     Jieun Kim, University of California, Berkeley
12:15    SB01.01.08     Yoonho Kim, Massachusetts Institute of Technology
12:30    SB01.07.02     Arda Kotikian, Harvard University
12:45    SB01.12.74     Jia Zhuang, University of California, San Diego
1:00      SB04.09.06      Zhijie Zhu, University of Minnesota Twin Cities
1:15      MT02.10.08      Naila Al Hasan*, University of Maryland
1:30      BREAK  
1:45      SB04.04.08     Junzhe Lou*, Stanford University
2:00      SB04.12.03     Amirali Nojoomi*, The University of Texas at Arlington
2:15      SB06.01.02     Jaba Mitra*, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign
2:30      SB05.01.04     Ilaria Abdel Aziz, Istituto Italiano di Tecnologia, Politecnico di Milano
2:45      SB07.06.21     Siddharth Krishnan, University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign

Session 3—Beacon G

12:00    EN01.04.05     Chengcheng Fang, University of California, San Diego
12:15    EN01.05.08     Yiren Zhong, Yale University
12:30    EN04.02.02     David Mackanic, Stanford University
12:45    EN04.08.06     Lucie Ries, Université de Montpellier
1:15      EN08.16.02     Nicholas Rolston, Stanford University
1:30      BREAK  
1:45      EN09.03.10     Xiaotong Li, Northwestern University
2:00      EN09.12.08     Yongtao Liu, The University of Tennessee
2:15      EN10.03.15     Minliang Lai, University of California, Berkeley
2:30      EN14.03.04     Matthias T. Agne*, Northwestern University
2:45      EN02.03.03     William Fitzhugh*, Harvard University

*Nowick Candidate

Publishing Alliance

MRS publishes with Springer Nature