2020 MRS Spring Meeting

Call for Papers

In March of this year, MRS leadership made the difficult decision to cancel the 2020 MRS Spring Meeting in Phoenix for the safety and well-being our members, attendees, staff and the materials community, and to reschedule as much of the program as possible into a special 2020 Joint MRS Spring and Fall Meeting.

This one-time-only joint event will take place in Boston, from Saturday, November 28 through Friday, December 4—expanding by one day to provide programming capacity. The program flow for each symposium is under development and will be announced in early July.

Symposium EN07—Next-Generation Electrical Energy Storage—Beyond Intercalation-Type Lithium Ion

Significant improvements and cost reduction in energy storage technologies are essential for successful transition to battery-powered electric vehicles (EV) and renewable energy harvesting. This symposium addresses this need by focusing on new and/or emerging materials science and engineering directions which are expected to improve energy storage characteristics, enhance stability, improve safety, and reduce the cost of electrochemical energy storage technologies. The most promising and latest solutions for the efficient storage and release of electrical energy will be targeted as we plan to cover the most recent materials developments for high-energy and high-power rechargeable batteries. Highlighted areas include novel materials for electrodes and electrolytes, their synthesis, characterization, and modeling. Particular attention will be given to the topics of new materials development, ion/electron transport, ion storage and chemical-mechanical stability of the interfaces and interphases within nanostructured and conventional electrodes and electrolytes.

The development of improved materials for advanced energy- storage solutions for transportation, industrial equipment, electrical grid energy storage, and portable devices requires an interdisciplinary approach in which materials science and engineering is integrated with chemistry and physics. We have identified a number of such interdisciplinary topics; invited talks given by both industrial experts and leading scientists from academia and national laboratories will introduce each topic, highlight some of the latest developments, and reveal the author’s views on promising approaches which address the critical challenges. Theory and modeling will be an integral part of this symposium. Advanced characterization including in-operando approaches, unconventional routes for the fabrication of electrodes, separators, and cells as well as multifunctional and integrated devices will be covered in separate topical sections.

Topics will include:

  • Si-based and other high capacity anode materials for Li-ion batteries
  • Technologies enabling Li metal anodes
  • Conversion-type cathode materials for Li-ion batteries
  • Calorimetric and other key properties of high capacity electrodes
  • Solid electrolytes: ceramic, glass, polymer and composites
  • Materials for metal-air batteries
  • Anode and cathode materials for non-Li battery chemistries (Na+, K+, Ca+, Mg2+, Al3+, F-, etc.)
  • Interfaces and coatings in advanced energy storage devices
  • Modeling and simulation of materials for batteries
  • Advanced and operando characterization of batteries
  • Materials, chemistries, and architectures for aqueous batteries
  • Multifunctional, flexible and integrated energy storage devices
  • Unconventional routes for fabrication of electrodes, separators, and cells

Invited Speakers:

  • Glenn Amatucci (Rutgers University, USA)
  • Veronica Augustyn (North Carolina State University, USA)
  • Oleg Borodin (U.S. Army Research Laboratory, USA)
  • Peter Bruce (Oxford University, United Kingdom)
  • Mei Cai (General Motors, USA)
  • Zheng Chen (University of California, San Diego, USA)
  • Jeff Dahn (Dalhousie University, Canada)
  • Nancy Dudney (Oak Ridge National Laboratory, USA)
  • Yury Gogotsi (Drexel University, USA)
  • Andreas Hintennach (Daimler AG, Germany)
  • Kisuk Kang (Seoul National University, Republic of Korea)
  • Robert Kostecki (Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory, USA)
  • Joachim Maier (Max Planck Institute Stuttgart, Germany)
  • John Muldoon (Toyota North America, USA)
  • Mary Patterson (Enerdel, USA)
  • Jeff Sakamoto (University of Michigan, USA)
  • Yang Shao-Horn (Massachusetts Institute of Technology, USA)
  • Esther Takeuchi (Stony Brook University, USA)
  • Anton Van Der Ven (University of California, Santa Barbara, USA)
  • Chunsheng Wang (University of Maryland, USA)

Symposium Organizers

Gleb Yushin
Georgia Institute of Technology
267.679.3219, yushin@gatech.edu

Miaofang Chi
Oak Ridge National Laboratory
865.241.4284, chim@ornl.gov

Shirley Meng
University of California, San Diego
(858)822-4247, shirleymeng@ucsd.edu

Dan Steingart
Princeton University
Mechanical and Aerospace Engineering, Andlinger Center for Energy and the Environment