2020 MRS Spring Meeting

Call for Papers

In March of this year, MRS leadership made the difficult decision to cancel the 2020 MRS Spring Meeting in Phoenix for the safety and well-being our members, attendees, staff and the materials community, and to reschedule as much of the program as possible into a special 2020 Joint MRS Spring and Fall Meeting.

This one-time-only joint event will take place in Boston, from Saturday, November 28 through Friday, December 4—expanding by one day to provide programming capacity. The program flow for each symposium is under development and will be announced in early July.

Symposium EN10—Emerging Inorganic Semiconductors for Solar-Energy Conversion

Photovoltaic (PV) and photoelectrochemical (PEC) solar cells are energy technologies that convert sunlight into electricity or fuels. The main common component of both PV and PEC technologies is the semiconductor absorber material, where the sunlight is absorbed, and the resulting charge carriers are transported. Existing absorber technologies such as Si have good efficiency, cost, and reliability and are on track to meet about 3% (1 TW) of global electricity demand by 2030. However, satisfying 30% (10 TW) of the world’s energy demand by 2050 using PV, would also require low capital expenditures and several other features (i.e. elements should be earth abundant, not “critical”, non-toxic). Even more stringent selection criteria apply to materials that can provide a substantial fraction of fuels using PEC. These observations call for additional research and development of emerging inorganic semiconductors absorber materials, to diversify the portfolio of existing PV and PEC solar cell technologies.

This symposium will cover all aspects of emerging inorganic semiconducting materials, with particular emphasis on photovoltaic and photoelectrochemical solar cells and related energy conversion technologies. The focus will be on new materials for PV and PEC solar cell technologies. A wide range of emerging photovoltaic absorber materials will be discussed, including SnS, Cu2O, FeS2, Sb2S3, Bi2S3, MoSe2, ZnSnN2, ZnSiP2, Cu2SnS3, CuSbS2, AgBiS2, SbSeI, CsPbCl3, Cu2ZnSnS4, Cu2BaSnS4, Cs2BiAgCl6, as well as other novel chalcogenides, nitrides and phosphides. Emerging photoelectrochemical absorbers will include but not limited to Ta3N5, BiVO4, FeWO4, Mn2V2O7, Cu3V2O8, SrNbO2N, ZnFe2O4, Cu2ZnSnS4 and other semiconducting materials (but not electrocatalysts). This year, we will also consider contributions on emerging contacts, buffers, transparent conductors, and other supporting semiconducting materials for established Si, CdTe, CIGS, III-V PV absorbers, and for widely-studied TiO2, Fe2O3, WO3 PEC absorbers, but not these well-established PV and PEC absorbers themselves. Contributions on emerging materials for other optoelectronic energy conversion technologies, such as solid-state lighting, photodetectors, or photocatalysis, are also welcome.

This is a 4th symposium in series at MRS Spring meetings, also alternating with similar biannual events at Spring EMRS. A young-scientist tutorial and a panel discussion are tentatively planned as a part of this symposium.

Topics will include:

  • Theory, computation, synthesis, characterization, and device integration
  • Data-driven high-throughput computational and experimental methods
  • Materials chemistry & physics, interface science, device modeling & fabrication
  • Absorber materials, contact layers, transparent conductors
  • Grain boundaries, defects & dopants, surface passivation

Invited Speakers:

  • Joel Ager (Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory, USA)
  • Nicolas Gaillard (Hawaii Natural Energy Institute, USA)
  • John Gregoire (California Institute of Technology, USA)
  • Xiaojing Hao (University of New South Wales, Australia)
  • William Jo (Ewha Womans University, Republic of Korea)
  • Mercouri Kanatzidis (Northwestern University, USA)
  • Gang Liu (Institute of Metal Research, China)
  • Jon Major (University of Liverpool, United Kingdom)
  • David Mitzi (Duke University, USA)
  • Akira Nagaoka (Kyoto University, Japan)
  • Robert Palgrave (University College London, United Kingdom)
  • Yaroslav Romanyuk (Empa–Swiss Federal Laboratories for Materials Science and Technology, Switzerland)
  • Edgardo Saucedo (Institut de Recerca en Energia de Catalunya, Spain)
  • David Scanlon (University College London, United Kingdom)
  • Byungha Shin (Korea Advanced Institute of Science and Technology, Republic of Korea)
  • Susanne Siebentritt (University of Luxembourg, Luxembourg)
  • Adele Tamboli (National Renewable Energy Laboratory, USA)
  • Lianzhou Wang (University of Queensland, Australia)
  • Dirk Weiss (First Solar, USA)
  • Hiroshi Yanagi (University of Yamanashi, Japan)

Symposium Organizers

Andriy Zakutayev
National Renewable Energy Laboratory

Aron Walsh
Imperial College London
United Kingdom
+44 (0)20 7594 1178, a.walsh@imperial.ac.uk

Lydia Helena Wong
Nanyang Technological University
65 6513-8292, LydiaWong@ntu.edu.sg

Gang Xiong
First Solar
+1 408.492.8319, GXiong@FIRSTSOLAR.COM