2020 MRS Spring Meeting

Call for Papers

In March of this year, MRS leadership made the difficult decision to cancel the 2020 MRS Spring Meeting in Phoenix for the safety and well-being our members, attendees, staff and the materials community, and to reschedule as much of the program as possible into a special 2020 Joint MRS Spring and Fall Meeting.

This one-time-only joint event will take place in Boston, from Saturday, November 28 through Friday, December 4—expanding by one day to provide programming capacity. The program flow for each symposium is under development and will be announced in early July.

Symposium S.EN01—Next Steps for Perovskite Photovoltaics and Beyond

Organic-inorganic perovskite solar cells have emerged recently in a spectacular fashion achieving efficiencies of 24.2% promising a sustainable energy source for the generations to come. Perovskites can be processed through low-cost solution-techniques and they have exceptional material properties such as remarkably high absorption over the visible spectrum, low exciton binding energy, charge carrier diffusion lengths in the μm range, a sharp optical band edge, and a tuneable band gap from 1 to 3 eV by interchanging the individual perovskite components.

While the race for efficiency continues, other research aspects are becoming more and more urgent. This includes the upscaling from lab-scale devices to industrial modules, the environmental assessment in terms of toxicity, and the long-term stability of the perovskite absorber, perhaps the most urgent remaining questions in the field.

Furthermore, perovskite semiconductors can be used beyond photovoltaics and accordingly non-photovoltaic, perovskite-based applications have established research fields in their own right, e.g. lasing, light emitting devices, tandem solar cells, photodetectors, wearable electronics, and XRD/particle detection. As a research community, we can benefit from this emerging research by exchanging our experience and long-term outlook.

Accordingly, this symposium explores the fundamental challenges in the field with a focus on the material’s properties that make perovskites so remarkable and the current understanding of the device physics. In addition, there will be sessions to promote research on perovskites for non-photovoltaic applications, e.g. LED, lasers, detectors, memory, etc. Finally, there are designated sessions on the progress of long-term stability, the evolution towards modules, and assessment of toxicity in order to provide an outlook on how close perovskite solar cells are to commercialization.

Topics will include:

  • Perovskites for multijunction photovoltaics
  • Understanding degradation mechanisms for long-term stable perovskite solar cells
  • Enviromental impact and toxicity of perovskite materials
  • Upscaling for large area perovskite modules
  • Device physcis, i.e. characterisation and simulations
  • Multicomponent engineering
  • Novel, perovskite-inispired materials
  • Non-PV perovskites (detectors, LEDs, memory, wearable (flexible) electronics)

Invited Speakers:

  • Henk Bolink (Universidad de Valencia, Spain)
  • Kylie Catchpole (Australian National University, Australia)
  • Juan-Pablo Correa-Baena (Georgia Institute of Technology, USA)
  • Anna Lena Giesecke (Gesellschaft für Angewandte Mikro- und Optoelektronik, Germany)
  • Anders Hagfeldt (Ecole Polytechnique Fédérale de Lausanne, Switzerland)
  • Anita Ho-Baillie (University of Sydney, Australia)
  • Libai Huang (Purdue University, USA)
  • Hyun Suk Jung (Sungkyunkwan University, Republic of Korea)
  • Mercouri Kanatzidis (Northwestern University, USA)
  • Hemamala Karunadasa (Stanford University, USA)
  • Marina Leite (University of California, Davis, USA)
  • Mónica Lira-Cantú (Catalan Institute of Nanoscience and Nanotechnology, Spain)
  • Maria Antonietta Loi (University of Groningen, Netherlands)
  • Olga Malinkiewicz (Saule Technologies, Poland)
  • Michael McGehee (Stanford University, USA)
  • David Mitzi (Duke University, USA)
  • Tsutomu Miyasaka (Toin University of Yokohama, Japan)
  • Selina Olthof (University of Cologne, Germany)
  • Nam-Gyu Park (Sungkyunkwan University, Republic of Korea)
  • Yabing Qi (Okinawa Institute of Science and Technology, Japan)
  • Uwe Rau (Forschungszentrum Juelich, Germany)
  • Jangwon Seo (Korea Research Institute of Chemical Technology, Republic of Korea)
  • Eva Unger (Helmholtz-Zentrum Berlin, Germany)
  • Wei Zhang (University of Surrey, United Kingdom)
  • Yuanyuan Zhou (Brown University, USA)
  • Rui Zhu (Peking University, China)

Symposium Organizers

Michael Saliba
Technische Universitat Darmstadt

Antonio Abate
Helmholtz-Zentrum Berlin

Mingzhen Liu
University of Electronic Science and Technology of China

Annamaria Petrozza
Istituto Italiano di Tecnologia
+39 022 3999 871, Annamaria.Petrozza@iit.it

Symposium Support

Media Partners