2020 MRS Spring Meeting

Call for Papers

In March of this year, MRS leadership made the difficult decision to cancel the 2020 MRS Spring Meeting in Phoenix for the safety and well-being our members, attendees, staff and the materials community, and to reschedule as much of the program as possible into a special 2020 Joint MRS Spring and Fall Meeting.

This one-time-only joint event will take place in Boston, from Saturday, November 28 through Friday, December 4—expanding by one day to provide programming capacity. The program flow for each symposium is under development and will be announced in early July.

Symposium S.EN05—Low-Cost Aqueous Rechargeable Battery Technologies

This symposium will cover aqueous rechargeable batteries (ARBs), their associated materials engineering challenges, and performance optimization. With the increasing integration of renewable power sources such as wind and solar into the electrical grid, there is a need for inexpensive, dependable, and safe electrochemical energy storage systems to stabilize the inherent fluctuations of such sources. The low production costs (potentially below $100/kWh), non-flammability, environmental friendliness, and moderate energy density of ARBs make them promising candidates for grid-scale storage, but their adoption has been hindered by limited cycle life and reliability. For example, zinc anodes in traditional alkaline batteries suffer from shape changes, dendrite formation, and irreversible passivation during cycling. This symposium will elucidate understanding of the processes and limitations of conventional alkaline ARB chemistries, such as zinc–manganese oxide and zinc–air, as well as the emerging chemistries with intercalation electrodes and neutral, mildly acidic, or “water-in-salt” electrolytes. Contributions will span the full technology life cycle, from investigation of new electrode and separator materials and architectures, and new electrolyte formulations, to larger-scale electrode processing strategies, to design and evaluation of multi-cell grid-scale battery systems. Besides materials development, presentations will be solicited on more fundamental studies of ARB behavior, such as advanced in situ/in operando characterization and theoretical calculations to correlate electrode microstructural evolution with electrochemical properties. Macroscale modeling of battery performance at the single-cell and multi-cell levels, is also welcomed. Accompanying analyses of the economic, safety, reliability, and energy/power density constraints of grid storage applications are also encouraged to inform and motivate fundamental material development. This symposium will therefore aim to bring together speakers from academia, national laboratories, and companies to offer a diversity of perspectives on current progress in ARB technology and promote productive discussions on future research directions.

Topics will include:

  • New electrode and/or separator materials, additives, and architectures for ARBs
  • New electrolytes or additives to traditional electrolytes
  • Non-traditional ARB chemistries
  • Improved electrode processing techniques
  • Failure mechanisms of ARBs
  • Manufacturing of large-scale ARB systems for grid storage
  • Modeling and/or advanced characterization of electrode processes during cycling
  • Modeling operation of grid-scale ARB systems
  • In operando studies of cells
  • Cost analysis and optimization of ARB technology

Invited Speakers:

  • Lynden Archer (Cornell University, USA)
  • Sanjoy Banerjee (CUNY, USA)
  • Prabeer Barpanda (Indian Institute of Science, India)
  • Zhi Chunyi (City University of Hong Kong, Hong Kong)
  • Scott Donne (The University of Newcastle, Australia, Australia)
  • Timothy Lambert (Sandia National Laboratories, USA)
  • Eivind Listerud (ZAF Energy Systems, USA)
  • Liqiang Mai (Wuhan University of Technology, China)
  • Y. Shirley Meng (University of California, San Diego, USA)
  • Sri Narayan (University of Southern California, USA)
  • Huilin Pan (Pacific Northwest National Laboratory, USA)
  • Debra Rolison (U.S. Naval Research Laboratory, USA)
  • Daniel Steingart (Columbia University, USA)
  • Esther Takeuchi (Stony Brook University, USA)
  • Damon Turney (The City University of New York, USA)
  • Xia Wei (ZPower, USA)
  • David Wilkinson (The University of British Columbia, Canada)
  • Kang Xu (U.S. Army Research Laboratory, USA)
  • Jihui Yang (University of Washington, USA)
  • Yan Yao (University of Houston, USA)
  • Chunyi Zhi (City University of Hong Kong, China)

Symposium Organizers

Matthew Lim
Sandia National Laboratories
Energy Storage Technology and Systems

Joshua Gallaway
Northeastern University
Chemical Engineering

Jaekook Kim
Chonnam National University
Materials Science and Engineering
Republic of Korea
+82-62-530-1703, jaekook@chonnam.ac.kr

Gautam Yadav
The City University of New York
Energy Institute
857-928-7786, ggyadav56@gmail.com

Symposium Support

Media Partners