2020 MRS Spring Meeting

Call for Papers

In March of this year, MRS leadership made the difficult decision to cancel the 2020 MRS Spring Meeting in Phoenix for the safety and well-being our members, attendees, staff and the materials community, and to reschedule as much of the program as possible into a special 2020 Joint MRS Spring and Fall Meeting.

This one-time-only joint event will take place in Boston, from Saturday, November 28 through Friday, December 4—expanding by one day to provide programming capacity. The program flow for each symposium is under development and will be announced in early July.

Symposium S.EN09—Flow-Based Open Electrochemical Systems

An open electrochemical system involves one or more reagents circulating through cell compartments for electrochemical reactions. The flow-based systems span over a variety of systems such as flow batteries, fuel cells, electrolyzers, capacitive deionization, flow synthesis, etc. for applications in grid and transportation energy storage, water desalination, catalysis, hydrogen production, and large-scale chemical production. Although significant progress has been achieved, materials development has represented common challenges for these technical fields, which have hampered the widespread commercial update of these technologies. Especially, the fundamental understandings of electrochemical processes and mechanisms in these systems are rather limited, including experimental and computational approaches for elucidating solvation structures, electrolyte/electrode interfaces, new membranes and electrodes, failure/degradation pathways, and transport properties. The knowledge is critically important to achieve technical breakthroughs and enable ubiquitous technological implementation. Moreover, high-level developmental needs have been identified for system-level optimizations, such as stack prototype, flow field, safety diagnostics, cost analysis, and field analytics. In addition, recent hybrid flow technologies integrating two or more electrochemical systems, such as solar flow batteries, photocatalytic fuel cells, continuous-flow synthesis of battery materials, have opened a promising avenue to harvest the advantages of both technologies. This symposium will encourage discussion of new concepts and challenges at the cutting-edge through both fundamental and applied studies of materials and systems. It will bring together a diverse mix of leading researchers and emerging talents to promote further synergy across fields.

Topics will include:

  • Redox materials and solvation chemistry for flow batteries
  • Fuel cells, electrolyzers
  • Membranes, electrode, catalysts
  • Heat, mass, and electron transports
  • Capacitive deionization systems
  • Continuous-flow synthesis
  • Characterizations and diagnostics
  • Failure/degradation mechanisms
  • Hybrid flow systems (solar-involved flow batteries and fuel cells)
  • Computational modeling, cost analysis
  • Flow field, stack prototyping, field analytics, safety

Invited Speakers:

  • Ertan Agar (University of Massachusetts Lowell, USA)
  • Travis Anderson (Sandia National Laboratories, USA)
  • Michael Aziz (Harvard University, USA)
  • Fikile Brushett (Massachusetts Institute of Technology, USA)
  • Hye Ryung Byon (Korea Advanced Institute of Science and Technology, Republic of Korea)
  • Chris Capuano (Proton OnSite, USA)
  • Huyen Dinh (National Renewable Energy Laboratory, USA)
  • Lauren Greenlee (University of Arkansas, USA)
  • Burcu Gurkan (Case Western Reserve University, USA)
  • Dirk Henkensmeier (Korea Institute of Science and Technology, Republic of Korea)
  • Song Jin (University of Wisconsin-Madison, USA)
  • Tianbiao Liu (Utah State University, USA)
  • James McKone (University of Pittsburgh, USA)
  • Shelley Minteer (University of Utah, USA)
  • Sri Narayan (University of Southern California, USA)
  • Zhenmeng Peng (The University of Akron, USA)
  • Joaquín Rodríguez-López (University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign, USA)
  • Christo Sevov (The Ohio State University, USA)
  • Qing Wang (The Pennsylvania State University, USA)
  • Wei Wang (Pacific Northwest National Laboratory, USA)
  • Zhengjin Yang (University of Science & Technology of China, China)
  • Hui Ying Yang (Singapore University of Technology and Design, Singapore)
  • Guihua Yu (University of Texas at Austin, USA)
  • Roswitha Zeis (Karlsruhe Institute of Technology, Germany)
  • Huamin Zhang (Dalian Institute of Chemical Physics, China)
  • Lu Zhang (Argonne National Laboratory, USA)

Symposium Organizers

Xiaoliang Wei
Indiana University-Purdue University Indianapolis
Department of Mechanical and Energy Engineering
317-274-8983, xwei18@iupui.edu

Xianfeng Li
Dalian Institute of Chemical Physics
86-41184379669, lixianfeng@dicp.ac.cn

Susan Odom
University of Kentucky
859-257-3294, susan.odom@uky.edu

Thomas Zawodzinski
University of Tennessee, Knoxville and Oak Ridge National Laboratory
(865) 974-5137, tzawodzi@utk.edu