2020 MRS Spring Meeting

Call for Papers

Symposium S.EN08-Multivalent-Based Electrochemical Energy Storage

This symposium will focus on key issues in beyond Li-ion electrochemical energy storage technologies based upon earth abundant, multivalent metals including Mg, Ca, Al, Fe, and Zn. The pressing need for both higher energy density and ultra-low cost storage devices has led to increased research effort worldwide in these alternative platforms. The materials chemistry challenges encountered are distinct from Li-ion but on familiar topics, including interfacial phenomena, reaction kinetics, solution speciation, and solid-state ion transport. Submissions that report on materials development or advances in characterization or modeling tools to reveal charge transport and reaction mechanisms and structure-property relationships in multivalent battery electrodes and electrolytes are encouraged.

All abstracts related to non-multivalent intercalation batteries, including Li-ion and Na-ion, should be submitted to the “Materials for Safe and Sustainable Electrochemical Energy Storage” symposium.

Topics will include:

  • Electrodeposition and alloy formation of multivalent metal anodes
  • Intercalation, conversion, and organic electrodes for multivalent ion storage
  • Multivalent cation transport in electrolytes and electrodes
  • Solid-electrolyte interface formation on multivalent metals
  • Electrochemical stability of multivalent electrolytes
  • Modeling and advanced characterization of charge transport and reactions
  • Advanced spectroscopic tools applied for multivalent ion storage
  • Novel chemistries and system designs

Invited Speakers:

  • Chunmei Ban (Virginia Tech, USA)
  • Debra Rolison (U.S. Naval Research Laboratory, USA)
  • Kang Xu (U.S. Army Research Laboratory, USA)
  • Yan Yao (University of Houston, USA)
  • Liqiang Mai (Wuhan University of Technology, China)
  • Chen Liao (Argonne National Laboratory, USA)
  • Elena Arroyo (Complutense University of Madrid, Spain)
  • Guanglei Cui (Qingdao Institute of Bioenergy and Bioprocess Technology, Chinese Academy of Sciences, China)
  • Robert Dominko (National Institute of Chemistry, Slovenia)
  • Maximilian Fichtner (Karlsruhe Institute of Technology, Germany)
  • Juchen Guo (University of California, Riverside, USA)
  • Patrik Johansson (Chalmers University of Technology, Sweden)
  • Robert Messinger (The City College of New York, USA)
  • Rana Mohtadi (Toyota Research Institute of North America, USA)
  • Yuri Nakayama (Murata Manufacturing Co., Ltd., Japan)
  • Kimberly See (California Institute of Technology, USA)
  • John Vaughey (Argonne National Laboratory, USA)
  • Hyun Deog Yoo (Pusan National University, Republic of Korea)

Symposium Organizers

Jennifer Schaefer
University of Notre Dame
Department of Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering

Tianbiao (Leo) Liu
Utah State University
Department of Chemistry & Biochemistry

M. Rosa Palacin
Institut de Ciència de Materials de Barcelona
Department of Solid State Chemistry

Zhirong Zhao-Karger
Karlsruhe Institute of Technology
Institute of Nanotechnology

Publishing Alliance

MRS publishes with Springer Nature