2020 MRS Spring Meeting

Call for Papers

Symposium S.NM07-Two-Dimensional Quantum Materials Out of Equilibrium

Quantum Materials is a concept that has broadened significantly in recent years, spanning beyond strongly correlated electron materials. In two-dimensional (2D) systems, several classes of quantum materials have been identified beyond graphene, such as transition metal dichalcogenides, van der Waals crystals, and topological insulators. 2D materials are being widely investigated for their appealing properties such as high flexibility, optical transparency or enormous carrier mobility, superior catalytic properties and robust ferromagnetism when sliced to the monolayer limit. Because the electrons in these materials are exposed to interlayer coupling, the properties of these materials are defined not only by the constituent monolayers, but also by the interactions between the layers. Many fascinating electrical, optical and magnetic properties have recently been reported in quantum materials owing to their reduced dimensionality (strong quantum confinement), and enhanced Coulomb interactions. These materials offer the great opportunity to tune their electronic and magnetic states, structure, and interlayer coupling through external stimuli such as photons, electric and magnetic fields and pressure. To broaden the current knowledge on quantum materials, it is necessary to develop operando techniques to quantify, manipulate and measure their properties over a wide range of temporal and spatial scales and under external perturbations.This symposium will focus on investigations into the physical properties (magnetic, optical, and electronic) of 2D quantum materials upon application of external perturbations, using a wide range of experimental and computational tools. The principal goal of this symposium is to bring together both experimentalists and theoreticians investigating the physics, chemistry, materials science and engineering aspects of quantum materials. With a mix of young scientists and established leaders in the field as invited speakers, the symposium will capture the new and most impactful developments in the field, and simultaneously enable researchers to receive a deeper perception of this emerging field and its grand challenges and opportunities. The development of understanding, knowledge, new methodologies and tools will accelerate the discovery of new quantum materials and advance the ability to probe, predict, and exploit their remarkable properties.

Topics will include:

  • In-situ control and measurement of the magnetic, electronic, and optical properties of quantum materials by employing time and spatially resolved optical techniques, and high-energy particles including protons, neutrons and electrons.
  • Control of physical properties of quantum materials by voltage/electric-field/electrostatic gating
  • Electronic/optical/magnetic properties of quantum materials upon in-situ application of pressure and high magnetic fields
  • Developments of new in-operando characterization techniques to discover materials with improved properties and functionalities
  • Prediction of the fundamental properties of quantum materials upon external stimuli by employing state-of-the-art theoretical calculations.
  • Optically and electrically controlled device concepts and demonstration
  • A tutorial complementing this symposium is tentatively planned.

Invited Speakers:

  • Alberto Gonzalez Curto (Eindhoven University of Technology, Netherlands)
  • Jigang Wang (Iowa State University, USA)
  • Philip Kim (Harvard University, USA)
  • Frank Koppens (The Institute of Photonic Sciences (ICFO), Spain)
  • Vinod Menon (City College of New York, USA)
  • Joshua Robinson (The Pennsylvania State University, USA)
  • Kate Ross (Colorado State University, USA)
  • Richard Averitti (University of California, San Diego, USA)
  • Anjan Barman (S.N. Bose National Centre for Basic Sciences, India)
  • S V Bhat (Indian Institute of Science, India)
  • Huibo Cao (Oak Ridge National Laboratory, USA)
  • Mark Dean (Brookhaven National Laboratory, USA)
  • John Freeland (Argonne National Laboratory, USA)
  • Na Hyun Jo (Ames Laboratory/Iowa State University, USA)
  • Wu Junqiao (University of California, Berkeley, USA)
  • Liqin Ke (U.S. Department of Energy–Ames Laboratory, USA)
  • Philip King (University of Saint Andrews, United Kingdom)
  • Lu Li (University of Michigan, USA)
  • Kin Mak (Cornell University, USA)
  • Fiebig Manfred (ETH Zürich, Switzerland)
  • Rohit Prasankumar (Los Alamos National Laboratory, USA)
  • Nathaniel Stern (Northwestern University, USA)
  • Fazel Tafti (Boston College, USA)
  • Wang-Kong Tse (The University of Alabama, USA)
  • Joshua Turner (Stanford University, USA)
  • Johan van Tol (Florida State University, USA)

Symposium Organizers

Srinivasa Rao Singamaneni
The University of Texas at El Paso

Ariando Ariando
National University of Singapore

Christianne Beekman
Florida State University

Jaime Gómez Rivas
Technische Universiteit Eindhoven
Applied Physics

Publishing Alliance

MRS publishes with Springer Nature