Advocacy & Policy

Current and Past MRS/OSA Fellows 

Sarah Vorpahl

The Materials Research Society and Optical Society of America are pleased to announce their 2017-2018 Congressional Science and Engineering Fellow, Sarah Vorpahl of the University of Washington.

Sarah graduated her Ph.D. from the University of Washington, where she studied advanced energy materials in the lab of Professor David Ginger. Her research focused on using novel electrical scanning probe microscopy to characterize the functional properties of next generation solar cell materials. Sarah was a National Defense Science and Engineering Graduate Fellow as well as a fellow of the Clean Energy Institute at UW where she worked across Washington State to communicate renewable energy research to both policy makers and the public. Her doctoral work also included a Ph.D. Concentration in Public Policy and Management from the Evans School at the University of Washington, exploring topics such as innovation and commercialization of new materials for energy. Before coming to Seattle, Sarah received a B.A. in Modern Literary Studies from the University of California, Santa Cruz ('04) and a B.S. in Chemistry from Northeastern Illinois University ('11).

Outside of the lab, Sarah has been dedicated to increasing representation of women and minoritized students in STEM. In her first year of graduate school she founded the student group Women in Chemical Sciences at the University of Washington to educate and empower women in STEM fields. Sarah has also spent time working with the Washington State Department of Commerce, helping to translate the technical achievements of innovative clean energy policy to a broader audience. Sarah is excited to better understand how scientists can have a meaningful impact on policy as the MRS/OSA Science and Engineering Congressional Fellow.

Sarah is excited to be the 2017-2018 MRS/OSA Congressional Science and Engineering Fellow in the office of Senator Bernie Sanders (VT).

To learn about past MRS/OSA fellows and their work in Washington, click any of the names below.

Past MRS/OSA Congressional Science and Engineering Fellows

  • Felicia Lucci (2016-2017)
  • James O'Dea (2014-2015)
  • Peter Winter (2015-2016)
  • Sydney Kaufman (2013-2014)
  • Mirvat Abdelhaq (2012-2013)
  • Laura Povlich (2011-2012)
  • Ashley White (2010-2011)
  • Gavi Begtrup (2009-2010)
  • Amit Mistry (2008-2009)
  • Alicia Jackson (2007-2008)
  • Kevin Whittlesey (2006-2007)
  • Benjamin Jay Gross (2005-2006)
  • Karin Ezbiansky Pavese (2004-2005)
  • Colin McCormick (2003-2004)
  • Jeffrey H. Haeni (2002-2003)
  • Eric Werwa (2001-2002)
  • Susan Ginsberg (2000-2001)
  • Arun Seraphin (1999-2000)
  • Merrilea Mayo (1998-1999)
  • Brian Holloway (1997-1998)
  • Michal I. Freedhoff (1996-1997)
  • Kelly Kirkpatrick (1995-1996)