Advocacy & Policy

Current and Past MRS/TMS Fellows 

Scott Litzelman

The Materials Research Society and The Minerals, Metals and Materials Society are pleased to announce their 2017-2018 Congressional Science and Engineering Fellow, Scott Litzelman of Booz Allen Hamilton.

Scott earned two degrees in materials science and engineering: a BS from North Carolina State University in 2002 and his PhD from the Massachusetts Institute of Technology in 2009. His doctoral research focused on modulating the ionic and electronic conductivity of nanostructured thin films for solid oxide fuel cells with Dr. Harry Tuller. During his doctoral research, Litzelman received the Charlemagne Scholarship to perform secondary ion mass spectrometry (SIMS) research for several months at the RTWH Aachen University in Germany.

After completion of his PhD, Litzelman joined Booz Allen Hamilton as a scientific consultant. For the past eight years, he has helped program directors at the Advanced Research Projects Agency-Energy (ARPA-E) and the Defense Advanced Research Projects Agency (DARPA) implement and manage early-stage R&D funding programs. He supported research programs related to fuel cells, carbon capture and storage, battery separators, energy efficiency and nanostructured materials. During his time at Booz Allen, Litzelman also explored how open innovation and crowdsourcing methods could provide new means of solving persistent technical challenges.

Litzelman saw the impact of policy on science firsthand when ARPA-E was authorized by the America COMPETES Act of 2007 and funded by the American Recovery and Reinvestment Act of 2009. Although the research programs he supported focused on technology, they exposed him to the importance and impact of policy on scientific funding. He became interested in questions such as how an increasing amount of renewable generation capacity could be integrated with the electrical grid, and how the United States could decarbonize its energy system as quickly and economically as possible.

Scott is excited to be the 2017-2018 MRS/TMS Congressional Science and Engineering Fellow in the office of Senator Ron Wyden (OR).

To learn about past MRS/TMS fellows and their work in Washington, click any of the names below.

Past MRS/TMS Congressional Science and Engineering Fellows

  • Aaron Dunn (2016-2017)
  • Adria Wilson (2014-2015)
  • Jeremy W. Ward (2015-2016)
  • Megan Brewster (2013-2014)
  • Andrew Steigerwald (2012-2013)
  • Jennifer Nekuda Malik (2011-2012)
  • Edward D. Herderick (2009-2010)
  • Ticora V. Jones (2008-2009)