S16 Landing Banner 1400x275

Call for Papers

Symposium EE14—Titanium OxidesFrom Fundamental Understanding to Applications

As a versatile semiconductor material of low cost, titanium oxide (TiO2) offers a wide range of functionalities for various important applications, such as photocatalytic solar fuel generation and environmental remediation, new generation solar cells, self-cleaning coatings, electrochemical energy storage, biomedical and electrochromic devices and sensors. Fundamental understanding and innovative design of TiO2-based materials are of particular importance for advancing the field of TiO2 research, particularly in renewable energy conversion and storage sectors.

This symposium aims to bring together top researchers across various disciplines in TiO2-related fields to exchange their latest advances in synthesis, structural and facet control, simulation, electronic structure engineering, surface modification, reaction mechanisms, and various applications of TiO2-based materials.

Topics will include:

  • TiO2-based nanocomposites and their applications
  • Superhydrophilic, amphiphilic, and antifogging surfaces
  • TiO2 nanomaterials: controllable synthesis and characterization
  • Fundamental mechanism understanding: charge transfer and recombination
  • Fundamental properties investigation: theoretical and computational study
  • Band-gap engineering of TiO2: optical, electronic, and catalytic modification
  • Photocatalysis reaction mechanism understanding: charge transfer and recombination
  • Photocatalysis: solar fuel generation, CO2 reduction, photo-oxidation, self-cleaning coating, water purification
  • Solar cells: Electrodes for third generation solar cells including perovskite based solar cells
  • Sensors and detectors, biomedical applications, electrochromic devices and charge storage systems

Invited Speakers:

  • Guozhong Cao (University of Washington, USA)
  • Matteo Cargnello (Stanford University, USA)
  • Xiaobo Chen (University of Missouri-Kansas City, USA)
  • Pingyun Feng (University of California, Riverside, USA)
  • Jinghua Guo (Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory, USA)
  • Anders Hagfeldt (École Polytechnique Fédérale de Lausanne, Switzerland)
  • Ladislav Kavan (J. Heyrovský Institute of Physical Chemistry, Academy of Sciences of the Czech Republic, Czech Republic)
  • Dongha Kim (Ehwa Womans University, Republic of Korea)
  • Dai-Bin Kuang (Sun Yat-sen University, China)
  • Changjian Lin (Xiamen University, China)
  • Gang Liu (Shenyang National Laboratory for Materials Science, Chinese Academy of Sciences, China)
  • Jong Hyeok Park (Yonsei University, Republic of Korea)
  • Michael J. Sailor (University of California, San Diego, USA)
  • David O. Scanlon (University College London, United Kingdom)
  • Annabella Selloni (Princeton University, USA)
  • Lianzhou Wang (University of Queensland, Australia)
  • Yadong Yin (University of California, Riverside, USA)
  • Jiaguo Yu (Wuhan University of Technology, China)
  • Jimmy C. M. Yu (Chinese University of Hong Kong, USA)

Symposium Organizers

Yang Yang Li
City University of Hong Kong
Department of Physics and Materials Science
Hong Kong
852-3442-7810, yangli@cityu.edu.hk

Zhiqun Lin
Georgia Institute of Technology
School of Materials Science and Engineering

Limin Qi
Peking University
College of Chemistry
86-10-62751722, liminqi@pku.edu.cn

Patrik Schmuki
University of Erlangen-Nuremberg
Department for Materials Science
49-9131-85 275 75, schmuki@ww.uni-erlangen.de