S16 Landing Banner 1400x275

Call for Papers

Symposium EE2—Advancements in Solar Fuels GenerationMaterials, Devices and Systems

Converting sunlight directly into chemical energy in a transportable fuel is an elegant and practical method to address both energy storage and distribution challenges the world is facing. Current technologies for solar fuels generation have significant challenges in efficiency, durability and cost. Photoelectrochemical (PEC) cells remain an intriguing technology with great potential for solar fuel generation, by exploring semiconductors with good light absorption and good electrocatalystic properties. In PEC hydrogen production, for instance, the desired semiconductor would have to be simultaneously efficient in converting sun light into charge carriers, be a good catalyst toward the chemical reactions of interest, be durable in operation and inexpensive to manufacture. Lack of suitable materials that can perform the energy-conversion process efficiently remains the biggest issue. To meet the challenge, deep understanding in both materials’ solid-state characteristics and semiconductor/electrolyte interface (SEI) properties is crucial for revolutionary development of novel materials, devices and systems.

This symposium provides an international and interdisciplinary forum to present and discuss the latest research and prospective R&D activities on solar fuels generation. The program will address latest advances in fundamental understanding of materials and photocatalysts, kinetics at SEI, development of electrode assemblies and heterostructures, latest architectures of devices and systems, achievements and performances in semiconductor nanostructures, modeling and simulation, as well as advanced characterization techniques. The goal of such multidisciplinary efforts is to engineer materials architectures with tunable photophysical and electrocatalytic properties capable of converting solar energy to chemical energy with high performance under extended operation. This symposium brings together top leaders in science and technology, interested newcomers and world-wide experts; and it would further expand the interest and progress in this area.

Topics will include:

  • Modeling and simulation of semiconductors and interfaces
  • Advanced materials and photo-catalysts for solar fuels generation and CO2 reduction via PEC process
  • Bioinspired materials and Nano-bio hybrid systems for solar fuels conversion
  • Materials architecture and heterostructure design, nanostructuring, bandgap engineering, quantum confinement, and plasmonic effects
  • Charge transfer and reaction kinetics at electrode/electrolyte interfaces
  • Synthesis and diagnostic techniques, operando and in situ analysis for activated materials and interfaces
  • Fundamental and comprehensive understanding of the relationship between synthesis, structure and property
  • Long term aqueous stability, corrosion and photo-corrosion of semiconductors
  • Novel systems and devices, and apparatus for solar fuels generation
  • Solar fuels generation via solar thermal(chemical) and photo-biological systems
  • National and international solar fuel energy systems, projects, and networks

Invited Speakers:

  • Joel Ager (Joint Center for Artificial Photosynthesis, USA)
  • Shane Ardo (University of California, Irvine, USA)
  • Candace Chan (Arizona State University, USA)
  • Xuan Cheng (Xiamen University, China)
  • Kazunari Domen (The University of Tokyo, Japan)
  • Etsuko Fujita (Brookhaven National Laboratory, USA)
  • Elizabeth Gibson (Newcastle University, United Kingdom)
  • Sophia Haussener (École polytechnique fédérale de Lausanne, Switzerland)
  • Bruce Koel (Princeton University, USA)
  • Roel van de Krol (Helmholtz Center - Berlin, Germany)
  • Ru-Shi Liu (National Taiwan University, Taiwan)
  • Sanjay Mathur (University of Cologne, Germany)
  • Zetian Mi (McGill University, Canada)
  • Eric Miller (U.S. Department of Energy, USA)
  • Takeshi Morikawa (Toyota Central R&D Laboratories, Japan)
  • Frank Osterloh (University of California, Davis, USA)
  • Elena Rozhkova (Argonne National Laboratory, USA)
  • Kevin Sivula (École polytechnique fédérale de Lausanne, Switzerland)
  • Renata Solarska (Warsaw Univesity, Poland)
  • John Turner (National Renewable Energy Laboratory, USA)
  • Lionel Vayssieres (Xi'an Jiaotong University, China)
  • Dunwei Wang (Boston College, USA)
  • Nianqiang Wu (West Virginia University, USA)
  • Zhigang Zou (Nanjing University, China)

Symposium Organizers

Heli Wang
281-207-5633, hwang@sabic.com

Artur Braun
EMPA - Swiss Federal Laboratories for Materials Science and Technology
41-58-7654850, artur.braun@empa.ch

Nicolas Gaillard
University of Hawaii at Manoa
808-9556-2342, ngaillar@hawaii.edu

Hongfei Jia
Toyota Research Institute North American