S16 Landing Banner 1400x275

Call for Papers

Symposium EE4—Electrode Materials and Electrolytes for Lithium and Sodium Ion Batteries

The electrical energy storage systems have attracted much attention for the past few decades because of the association with the development of alternative energy sources and the gradual depletion of oil resources around the world. From this point of view, the development of clean and highly efficient energy storage systems are becoming an even more urgent need. As an electrochemical energy storage device, rechargeable lithium batteries have been the dominant power sources for portable electronic devices due to the highest energy density achievable in the secondary batteries. They are also being pursued intensively for automotive and stationary storage applications. Although state-of-the art cathode materials for high power lithium-ion batteries may be based on the lithium manganese spinel oxide, improvements of the cathode performance using new concepts are needed. The design of safe, high power density, long life, and low cost alternatives to LiCoO2 is critical for the success of lithium-ion technology for vehicle applications. The choice of the electrolyte is also a major issue for high voltage spinel cathode materials. It must have a large electrochemical window to permit 5V reversible cycling without compromising on the ionic conductivity and rate performance. The thermal runaway poses a tremendous safety issue. Diffusion limited low temperature performance and high current charge and discharge and finally the manufacturing costs are limiting the technology. Understanding and controlling the formation of solid electrolyte interphase (SEI) is very important in the surface modified anodes and cathodes. Improving the batteries for electric vehicles (EV), including hybrid electric (HEV) and plug-in electric (PEV) vehicles, is key to improving vehicles' economic, social, and environmental sustainability in the world.

This symposium will focus on both the scientific and technological aspects of various forms of secondary batteries including lithium-ion, lithium-air, sodium-ion, lithium-sulfur systems. Emphasis will be on design and development of new materials, novel architectures, mechanistic understanding of energy storage processes, system design and development and existing and future applications. The symposium would provide an excellent forum for scientists and engineers from academia, national laboratories and industry to present the latest findings in various energy storage technologies. In addition, the symposium will provide a venue for fruitful interaction and exchange of ideas. It would also educate students and researchers in the nationally and globally important area of energy storage technologies.

Topics will include:

  • Materials for metal-air/oxygen batteries
  • Safe Lithium-ion and Sodium-ion Batteries
  • Advanced Cell, Separator and Electrode Manufacturing Technologies
  • High capacity anode and cathode materials for Lithium-ion and Sodium-ion batteries
  • Solid Electrolytes and Innovations in Electrolytes for Lithium-ion and Sodium-ion Batteries
  • Advances in In-situ and Ex-situ Characterization in Lithium-ion and Sodium-ion Batteries
  • Nanostructured Materials and Mesoscale Phenomenon in Lithium-ion and Sodium-ion Batteries
  • Theory, Modeling and Simulation in Lithium-ion and Sodium-ion Batteries
  • A tutorial complementing this symposium is tentatively planned.

Invited Speakers:

  • Khalil Amine (Argonne National Laboratory, USA)
  • C. Austen Angell (Arizona State University, USA)
  • Doron Aurback (Bar Ilan Institute, Israel)
  • Sheng Dai (Oak Ridge National Laboratory, USA)
  • Prashant Kumta (University of Pittsburgh, USA)
  • Ho Nyung Lee (Oak Ridge National Laboratory, USA)
  • Gao Liu (Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory, USA)
  • Jun Liu (Pacific Northwest National Laboratory, USA)
  • Arumugam Manthiram (University of Texas, USA)
  • Ganesan Nagasubramanian (Sandia National Laboratories, USA)
  • S.R. Narayanan (University of Southern California, USA)
  • Venkat Srinivasan (Lawrence Berkeley National Laboratory, USA)
  • Mahendra Sunkara (University of Louisville, USA)
  • Feng Wang (Berkeley National Laboratory, USA)
  • M. Stanley Whittingham (Stony Brook University, USA)
  • Xiao-Qing Yang (Brookhaven National Laboratory, USA)
  • Sukeun Yoon (Korea Institute of Energy Research, Republic of Korea)
  • Gleb Yushin (Georgia Institute of Technology, USA)
  • Karim Zaghib (Hydro-Quebec, Canada)

Symposium Organizers

Mariappan Parans Paranthaman
Oak Ridge National Laboratory
Chemical Sciences Division
865-574-5045, paranthamanm@ornl.gov

Ayyakkannu Manivannan
Materials Performance Division
304-285-2078, manivana@netl.doe.gov

Yang-Kook Sun
Hanyang University
Department of Energy Engineering
Republic of Korea
82-2-2220-0524, yksun@hanyang.ac.kr

Donghai Wang
The Pennsylvania State University
Department of Mechanical and Nuclear Engineering, Penn State Institute of Energy and the Environment
814-863-1287, dwang@psu.edu