S16 Landing Banner 1400x275

Call for Papers

Symposium EE9—Hydrogen and Fuel Cell Technologies for Transportation—Materials, Systems and Infrastructure

Hydrogen and fuel cell technologies will play a critical role in our future sustainable society, especially for sustainable transportation, due to their zero emission at user site. Polymer membrane fuel cells are particularly attractive for vehicle applications because of its quick response time. Recent progress in materials design and engineering and system integration has pushed hydrogen fuel cells ever closer to mass commercialization. There is a re-emerging interest in fuel cell technologies for transportation. Several automakers have launched or are scheduled to launch hydrogen fuel cell electric vehicles (FCEVs) as early as 2015. However, hydrogen and fuel cell technologies are still limited by cost, performance, and infrastructure. From scientific discovery and technology development point of view, hydrogen infrastructure (production, delivery, and storage) and fuel cell technologies are closely coupled. One particular example is hydrogen production from electrolysis, which leverages many of the same materials, manufacturing processes, and design principles as fuel cells. It is believed that, in order to move hydrogen and fuel cell technologies forward and to achieve the widespread adoption of hydrogen FCEVs, now it is critical for the scientists and engineers working on the hydrogen infrastructure and those on fuel cell technologies to collaborate closely together. This symposium will provide an interdisciplinary discussion forum about the current status and future perspectives of hydrogen and polymer membrane fuel cell technologies. This symposium aims to bring together scientists and engineers from all over the world in materials science, chemistry, physics, engineering, system analysis and integration to identify the key issues with hydrogen and fuel cell technologies and the strategies to solve them. The main topics will cover proton exchange membrane (PEM) fuel cells, anion exchange membrane (AEM) fuel cells, direct alcohol fuel cells (DAFCs), PEM and AEM based electrolyzers, hydrogen production, delivery and storage.

Topics will include:

  • Proton exchange membranes and anion exchange membranes
  • Membrane electrode assembly (MEA) integration
  • Bipolar plates
  • New concepts for fuel cells and hydrogen infrastructure
  • Platinum group metal (PGM) catalysts and non-precious metal catalysts including support materials
  • Materials design, synthesis and processing for hydrogen production using various methods (e.g., electrolytic, photolytic, thermal, biochemical)
  • Materials design, synthesis and processing for hydrogen delivery and storage
  • Advanced materials characterization, simulation and calculations
  • Techno-economic and life cycle analysis of hydrogen and fuel cell technologies, including infrastructure development
  • A tutorial complementing this symposium is tentatively planned.

Invited Speakers:

  • Hector Abruna (Cornell University, USA)
  • Everett Anderson (Proton OnSite, USA)
  • Rod Borup (Los Alamos National Laboratory, USA)
  • Ib Chorkendorff (Technical University of Denmark, Denmark)
  • Carsten Cremers (Fraunhofer Institute for Chemical Technology ICT, Germany)
  • Liming Dai (Case Western Reserve University, USA)
  • Tim Fellinger (Max Planck Institute of Colloids and Interfaces, Germany)
  • Shimshon Gottesfeld (CellEra Technologies, Israel)
  • Michael Hibbs (Sandia National Laboratories, USA)
  • Michael Hickner (The Pennsylvania State University, USA)
  • Daisuke Izuhara (Toray Industries, Inc, Japan)
  • Jun Liu (Pacific Northwest National Laboratory, USA)
  • Eiji Ohira (New Energy and Industrial Technology Development Organization-NEDO, Japan)
  • Shizhang Qiao (The University of Adelaide, Australia)
  • Sunita Satyapal (DOE Fuel Cell Technologies Office, USA)
  • Kazuhiko Shinohara (Nissan/FC Cubic, Japan)
  • Vojislav Stamenkovic (Argonne National Laboratory, USA)
  • Peter Strasser (Technische Universität Berlin, Germany)
  • Yung-Eun Sung (Seoul National University, Republic of Korea)
  • Tsuyoshi Takahashi (Toyota Motor, Japan)
  • Michael Ulsh (National Renewable Energy Laboratory, USA)
  • John Varcoe (The University of Surrey, United Kingdom)
  • Hongmei Yu (Dalian Institute of Chemical Physics, China)
  • Piotr Zelenay (Los Alamos National Laboratory, USA)

Symposium Organizers

Yuyan Shao
Pacific Northwest National Laboratory
509-371-6228, yuyan.shao@pnnl.gov

Katherine Ayers
Proton OnSite

Xinliang Feng
Technische Universitaet Dresden
49-351-463-43250, xinliang.feng@tu-dresden.de

Yu Morimoto
Toyota Central R&D Labs., Inc.

Yushan Yan
University of Delaware
302-831-2552, yanys@udel.edu