S16 Landing Banner 1400x275

Call for Papers

Symposium EP11—Novel Materials for End-of-Roadmap Devices in Logic, Power and Memory

The scaling of silicon MOSETs, DRAM, and Flash memory has already required the use for high-k dielectrics and the trend is expected to continue. Present Si MOSFETs employ high-K dielectrics, metal gates, and strain-engineered layers. Further progress requires new semiconductor channel materials and new device structures. For future MOSFET logic devices and power MOSFETs, novel channel materials such as III-V, Ge, SiGe, GaN, and transition metal dichalcogenides are being investigated. Tunnel FETs are one alternative device structure. Future non-volatile memory includes resistive RAM, phase change, and 3D Flash memory. This symposium will emphasize not only the advances in materials but also the new device structures that are required for the new materials to provide substantial improvements in device performance.

Topics will include:

  • High conductivity sources and drains for future MOSFETS
  • Electrical reliability of nanoscale devices and its modeling
  • Device structures and materials SiGe, Ge, III-Vs, GaN, SiC
  • Gate-stack materials and interfaces for future MOSFET
  • High-k dielectrics, bilayer oxide stack, and metal gates for SiGe, Ge, III-V, GaN, SiC, and Memory
  • Modeling of the physics and chemistry of defects in dielectrics
  • Modeling of band offsets, dielectric behavior, and work function control
  • Unconventional transistor designs including tunnel-FETS, 3D transistor and memory
  • High-k dielectrics for memories: Flash and DRAM, 3D Flash
  • Surface pretreatments and chemical cleaning of non-Si channel materials

Invited Speakers:

  • Takashi Ando (IBM, USA)
  • Joerg Appenzeller (Purdue University, USA)
  • Sanjay Banerjee (University of Texas at Austin, USA)
  • Stacey Bent (Stanford University, USA)
  • Tetsuo Endoh (Tohoku University, USA)
  • Jacopo Franco (IMEC, Belgium)
  • Susan Fullerton (University of Pittsburgh, USA)
  • Yuzheng Guo (Cambridge University, United Kingdom)
  • Debdeep Jena (Cornell University, USA)
  • Stephen McDonnell (University of Texas at Dallas, USA)
  • Paul McIntyre (Stanford University, USA)
  • Robert Nemanich (Arizona State University, USA)
  • Nirmal Ramaswamy (Micron Corp, USA)
  • Heike Riel (IBM Research - Zurich, Switzerland)
  • Kenji Shiraishi (Nagoya University, Japan)
  • Shariq Siddiqui (GlobalFoundries, USA)
  • Rainer Waser (RWTH Aachen University, Germany)

Symposium Organizers

John Robertson
Cambridge University
United Kingdom
44-1223-748331, jr@eng.cam.ac.uk

Martin M Frank
T. J. Watson Research Center
914-945-1107, mmfrank@us.ibm.com

Andrew C Kummel
University of California, San Diego
Chemistry 0358 UCSD
858-534-3368, akummel@ucsd.edu

Masaaki Niwa
Tohoku University
Center for Innovative Integrated Electronic Systems