S16 Landing Banner 1400x275

Call for Papers

Symposium EP14—Materials for Next-Generation Displays

From mobile devices to large-area digital signage, displays have become and will continue to be a central part of how we function and communicate in our daily lives. This symposium will highlight current efforts and advances in emerging materials, processes and devices that innovative display technologies. In particular, it will focus on materials aspects that will enable future generations of displays. The topics will include (but are not limited to): novel light emitting/converting materials such as heterostructured semiconductor nanocrystals and nanorods, QD-LEDs, advanced OLEDs, micro-LEDs, flexible and transparent systems, high efficiency/low power consumption devices, patterning and integration, electronics and user interfaces.

Topics will include:

  • Quantum dot LEDs
  • Micro LEDs
  • Flexible and transparent displays
  • Patterning, fabrication and integration
  • Electronics (TFTs, drivers, etc.)
  • Encapsulation, passivation, device lifetime and stability
  • Materials and designs for user interfaces
  • Novel nanoscale materials for electroluminescence and color conversion
  • Novel organic and inorganic light emitting materials and designs

Invited Speakers:

  • Jonghyun Ahn (Yonsei University, Republic of Korea)
  • Ralf Anselmann (Evonik, Germany)
  • Wan-Ki Bae (Korea Institute of Science and Technology, Republic of Korea)
  • Christophe Brault (Dow Chemical, USA)
  • Seth Coe-Sullivan (QD Vision, USA)
  • David Devore (Dow Chemical, USA)
  • C. Daniel Frisbie (University of Minnesota, USA)
  • Paul Holloway (Nanophotonica, USA)
  • Tom Jackson (Pennsylvania State University, USA)
  • Jake Joo (Dow Electronic Materials, USA)
  • Jang Joo Kim (Seoul National University, Republic of Korea)
  • Tae-Ho Kim (Samsung Advanced Institute of Technology, Republic of Korea)
  • Coskun Kocabas (Bilkent University, Turkey)
  • Hunter McDaniel (UbiQD, USA)
  • Nigel Pickett (Nanoco, United Kingdom)
  • Min Chul Suh (Kyung Hee University, Republic of Korea)
  • Dimitri Talapin (University of Chicago, USA)

Symposium Organizers

Moonsub Shim
University of Illinois
Materials Science and Engineering
217-333-7361, mshim@illinois.edu

Seokwoo Jeon
Korea Advanced Institute of Science and Technology
Materials Science and Engineering
Republic of Korea
82-42-350-3342, jeon39@kaist.ac.kr

Peter Trefonas
Dow Electronic Materials
508-229-7350, ptrefonas@dow.com