S16 Landing Banner 1400x275

Call for Papers

Symposium EP6—Integration of Heterovalent Semiconductors and Devices

Heterovalent semiconductor structures based on combinations of IV, II-VI and III-V materials enable the monolithic integration of many kinds of electronic and optoelectronic devices onto a single substrate, thus offering potentially transformative impact on future semiconductor devices and integrated circuits and their functionalities. The platform has unique properties such as lattice-matching to a single substrate, bandgap-energy coverage of a broad optical spectrum ranging from near-UV to far-infrared, and very high electron and hole mobilities. These properties are also ideal for electronic and optoelectronic devices such as FETs and photo-detectors. Structures composed of these materials have an unexplored richness of structural and electronic properties based on the heterovalent nature of their interfaces and synthetically introduced additional periodicities, such as superlattices. This symposium will cover the underlying fundamental physics and chemistry of heterovalent semiconductors and their interfaces, including structural, magnetic, transport, optical and doping properties, as well as opportunities for integration into novel electronic and optoelectronic devices.

Interdisciplinary topics related to the physics, chemistry, materials science and engineering of heterovalent semiconductors and their interfaces will be highlighted by invited talks in order to accelerate the exploitation of these materials into real-world device applications.

Topics will include:

  • Theory and modeling of heterovalent interfaces
  • Electronic structure and band offsets
  • Approaches to growth, including MBE, MOCVD, CVD and ALD
  • Structural, optical and transport properties
  • Applications and integration into novel devices

Invited Speakers:

  • Ishwara Bhat (Rensselaer Polytechnic Institute, USA)
  • Yuanping Chen (U.S. Army Research Laboratory, USA)
  • Russell Dupuis (Georgia Institute of Technology, USA)
  • Isaac Hernandez-Calderon (CINVESTAV-IPN, Mexico)
  • Esperanza Luna (Paul-Drude Institut, Germany)
  • Thomas Myers (Texas State University, USA)
  • Siva Sivananthan (University of Illinois at Chicago, USA)
  • Su-Huai Wei (National Renewable Energy Laboratory, USA)
  • Grace Xing (Cornell University, USA)
  • Alex Zunger (University of Colorado Boulder, USA)

Symposium Organizers

Yong-Hang Zhang
Arizona State University
School of Electrical, Computer, and Energy Engineering
480-965-2562, yhzhang@asu.edu

Jacek Furdyna
University of Notre Dame
Department of Physics
574-631-6741, furdyna@nd.edu

Henri Mariette
Institut Néel-CNRS
Nanophysique et Semiconducteurs
33-438-78-56-88, henri.mariette@cea.fr

Maria Tamargo
The City College of New York
Department of Chemistry